Skip to content

BTT: Stormy Reading

September 1, 2011

btt button



Ulysses deriding Polyphemus – Homer’s Odyssey
1829; Oil on canvas, 132.5 x 203 cm; National Gallery, London 

While my town dries out of record-setting, epic flooding from Hurricane Irene, let me ask you:

What’s your book with weather events? Hurricanes? Tornadoes? Blizzards? Real? Fiction? Doesn’t matter … weather comes up a lot in books, so there’s got to be a favorite somewhere, huh?

Oh, gosh, I don’t really think I have one! I can think of one hundred books that I would like to hunker down with in the event of such things but I haven’t really read a book with a good weather catastrophe that sticks out in my mind. I think probably two classics pop into my head, initially, being: The Wizard of Oz and The Odyssey. I think, one can probably conclude from those two picks, that I am more drawn to, or can better recall, storms that were involved in magic, rather than regular old natural forces. I think I can safely say that I want my storms to make a giant, formidable racket and be complete plot changing. I think that adds to my obsession with storms in real life and why I’ve never been afraid of bog old natural disasters.


10 Comments leave one →
  1. September 1, 2011 5:56 am

    You mentioned two very good examples! I forgot The Odyssey! I like storms as backdrop!

  2. September 1, 2011 6:22 am

    You did well with your answer. I also don’t think I really have one favorite. They all are harbingers of something. I did mention the Wizard of Oz. But it wasn’t my first thought. My answer is at http://www.alaskanbookcafe.com

  3. September 1, 2011 9:11 am

    Great examples and great stories. The Oz books are so much better than the movie (though I loved it too).

    Here’s my House Millar – BTT

    Aine

  4. September 1, 2011 9:56 am

    is the painting at the top a turner? the wizard of oz is a classic!

    • September 1, 2011 10:16 am

      It IS! Sorry, I posted too fast and my link and source didn’t appear. I love Turner even though I’m not usually a fan of more realistic art. I love Turner’s work regarding The Odyssey especially. REALLY pretty stuff. Good call!

  5. September 1, 2011 10:31 am

    Great answer! One of these days, I really need to read The Wizard of Oz.

  6. September 1, 2011 10:33 am

    I am reading one now that focuses on hurricane Katrina. It’s called Salvage the Bones, and it’s an extremely heavy read.

  7. September 1, 2011 2:59 pm

    Great answer! I also went with that!

    Here’s mine

  8. September 3, 2011 8:40 pm

    The two that immediately come to my mind are Sebastin Junger’s The Perfect Storm and Jon Krakauer’s Into Thin Air. Both are excellent reads about weather that led to lots of problems.

Leave a Reply

