Skip to content

R.I.P.: Hooray for Fall!

August 31, 2011

So right on the heels of proclaiming my status as a lost sheep, I am trying out a new and hopefully interesting activity. For many reasons, I am really excited about the impending change of season, the least of which is certainly neither the cooler temperatures nor is it the arrival of The Gavin, slated for none other than October 30th.

I have never been a Halloween fan, probably because I grew up very close to Salem and was gloriously bored with the whole thing by the time I even understood the concept of commercial creepiness. I’ve run literally screaming from many a scary movie and the only horror related books I can stomach are mildly shadowy, heavily campy murder mysteries.

Right, so, but like I said, I’m, I guess you might say, morbidly fascinated with the whole shebang, this year and I am finding myself craving a little creepy, right about now. For that reason, I’m thinking about jumping on the big old hay filled bandwagon, this year, as the blogging community throws down for the annual R.I.P. challenge.

It’s hosted at Stainless Steel Droppings and has myriad ways to participate. The challenge is R.I.P. or Readers Imbibing in Peril. Fun, right?


I’m picking the Peril the First which is described as:

Read four books, any length, that you feel fit (my very broad definitions) of R.I.P. literature. It could be Stephen King or Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, Ian Fleming or Edgar Allan Poe…or anyone in between.

The challenge lasts from September 1st (tomorrow) through the obvious end date of October 31st (or Halloween for you non-spooks) and can include any book that falls into any of the following categories:

Mystery.
Suspense.
Thriller.
Dark Fantasy.
Gothic.
Horror.
Supernatural.

Right now, I’ve got a few things picked out, but more will probably come down the pipeline as the scary season gets under way:







12 Comments leave one →
  1. Amanda permalink
    August 31, 2011 12:29 pm

    Thanks for these suggestions, Pam! (Although I already had the Bradley books on my to-read list. I thought you already read them? Or at least the first one?)

  2. August 31, 2011 12:29 pm

    Oh, you chose some great books there! I particularly loved The Circus and The Lantern and hope that you will too. Good luck on your challenge!

  3. August 31, 2011 12:30 pm

    Have fun with the challenge!

  4. August 31, 2011 12:34 pm

    I gwtw Halloween and horror, but I too am excited for RIP season!

  5. August 31, 2011 1:12 pm

    The Bradley books are wonderful! Atmospheric with mystery but not overly creepy and definitely not frightening. I hope you enjoy them!

    Happy reading!

  6. August 31, 2011 2:33 pm

    the Distant Hours is a good read!…
    I’ve already added the circus to my wish list… geez and I haven’t read any reviews on it yet! lol
    …so goes RIP!

  7. August 31, 2011 5:19 pm

    I read The Distant Hours for RIP last year and LOVED it! Like you, I’ve got The Lantern and The Night Circus on my list for this RIP. Happy reading!

  8. August 31, 2011 8:55 pm

    I need to add The Distant Hours to my list too! It seems like a lot of people have that on their lists or say they’ve read it last year. Looking forward to it!

  9. August 31, 2011 9:39 pm

    I am planning to read The Night Circus and The Lantern, too. I also might read The Distant Hours. I have only read The Forgotten Garden by her.

  10. August 31, 2011 11:00 pm

    Have fun with the challenge! I’m not one to read much creepy/spooky, but some of the titles you’re lining up really appeal to me — I love the Flavia de Luce mysteries (she’s a great young character), and THE NIGHT CIRCUS has its share of mystery/magic/macabre!

  11. September 2, 2011 9:14 am

    I’ve read all the Bradley books and enjoyed them. I just read The Lantern and it was terrific! Hope you enjoy them!

  12. September 11, 2011 11:31 pm

    You’ve got a great selection there!! I’d love to read the 2nd and 3rd Alan Bradley books, as well as The Night Circus. I love the RIP challenge, too.

Leave a Reply

