Skip to content

Teaser Tuesday: The White Queen ~ Philippa Gregory

August 30, 2011


Teaser Tuesdays
 is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

 


 

I feel worse than I have ever done before, because now I know that it is easier to take a country into war than to bring it to live at peace, and a country at war is a bitter place to live, a risky place to have daughters, and a dangerous place to hope for a son.

p.99 The White Queen by Philippa Gregory

19 Comments leave one →
  1. August 30, 2011 5:09 am

    what a wonderfull teaser!
    I still have this one on my shelves, waiting to be read.
    Have a great tuesday
    Kyanara from Laced Little Muffin’s Reading Corner

  2. T.F.Walsh permalink
    August 30, 2011 7:40 am

    That is a pretty amazing teaser… so profound:)

    Thanks for visiting.

  3. August 30, 2011 8:30 am

    Very dramatic teaser. Will have to go and have a look at that one I think.

    Chazz

  4. August 30, 2011 10:46 am

    Excellent teaser. Really points out the responsibilities of the queen.

  5. August 30, 2011 11:52 am

    Thoughtful teaser – as in it’s making me think.

    Margot @ Quirky Girls Read

  6. August 30, 2011 12:04 pm

    Goodness, what a dramatically powerful teaser! I’ve not read any of Philippa Gregory’s books before, but I might have to start looking into them. 🙂 Thank you for sharing and for visiting!

    ~DJL

  7. August 30, 2011 12:39 pm

    I read this one last year, and I will be interested in hearing what you think of it as compared to what I did!

  8. August 30, 2011 1:05 pm

    The author sounds familiar! And yes, the story of history confirms that it is all too easy to induce a nation to war. :-/

  9. August 30, 2011 1:11 pm

    Great tease. I really feel for her as a mother.

    Here’s mine: http://diannehartsock.wordpress.com/my-blog/

  10. August 30, 2011 1:39 pm

    Love her books, great cover and teaser.

    here’s mine:

    http://tributebooksmama.blogspot.com/2011/08/teaser-tuesday_30.html

  11. August 30, 2011 1:56 pm

    I need to try Gregory’s work. She’s a favorite of a dear friend of mine.

  12. August 30, 2011 5:49 pm

    Oohhhh I love the teaser. Thanks

    House Millar – TT

    Aine

  13. August 30, 2011 7:03 pm

    I have another one of this author’s works on my shelf! Hope you will stop by my teaser at http://EmmaMichaels.Blogspot.com

    Sincerely,
    Emma Michaels

  14. August 30, 2011 7:30 pm

    Oh such a profound quote! Very interesting.

  15. August 30, 2011 8:17 pm

    Awesome teaser, another one to add to my growing TBR pile. Thanks for visiting my blog earlier today.

  16. August 30, 2011 9:31 pm

    Great teaser! Thanks for sharing. If you get a chance, mine is here.

  17. August 30, 2011 11:11 pm

    nice teaser 🙂 seems like the White Queen has a lot on her shoulders in bringing peace to her country. i’d like to read one of Philippa Gregory’s books one day, i still haven’t read one 😦

    anyway, thanks for the recent visit 🙂 i can’t believe Emily Giffin’s just five miles away from you.. yes, i recommend that you go check one of her books. 🙂

  18. August 31, 2011 4:02 pm

    Wonderful teaser! This one has been on my TBR list for far too long!

Leave a Reply

