Skip to content

TSS: Nine Months to Nine Weeks

August 28, 2011

The Sunday Salon.com

We are officially at count down time. I have a lot to do before I can safely leave work to hide in my house all winter with my snuggly little family. However, my countdown clock has officially started its wind down. I am 31 weeks, today and couldn’t be happier. I’m not one to put a lot of pressure on the future of things but I can’t help feeling a bit like our little family will be complete when Gavin gets here. As far as temporarily complete, though, I just have to share my little/big guy because, hey, it’s what I do. I also, have never met another living person who can entertain him or herself for hours on end with a plastic robot and a chopstick.

Ah, but work I must, until Little G arrives. School has been about as busy as any one place can possibly be, running long into my nightly thought process. As such, my reading and thus blogging has taken a bit of a nosedive. I did finish two books, this week, one super, one not so super.
 

I am feeling, lately, like my reviews for YA books are being met with cries of, “But it’s just YA! It’s not supposed to be that deep!” Ah, rightly so, I suppose. I think it’s time to return to my adult reading. You know that bit about how “they” define insanity as doing the same thing over and over expecting different results and all.






This week, I don’t expect much from as I’m headed to Orlando, mid week to see my parents! I have a few things on tap including some brand new Philippa Gregory and Wherever You Go by Joan Leegant but I really just can’t make any promises, right now. Ha! How’s that for setting my expectations low?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. August 28, 2011 10:00 am

    I just started Domestic Violets last night and am loving it so far!

  2. August 28, 2011 11:13 am

    you’re coming to orlando???

  3. August 28, 2011 1:31 pm

    Honestly, I think we should hold YA to the same standards as other books. Good writing, tight plotting, and realistic characters are a must in anything.

    • August 28, 2011 1:35 pm

      Well, see, that’s what I was thinking! I really do expect, have always expected, YA to hold to the same standards. I think that some really DO. I think that lately I’ve hit a few duds but then that’s not anti-YA, as much as it is just anti-bad writing, right? Because how many lackluster adult books have I read, you know?

  4. August 28, 2011 2:28 pm

    If you are going to be in Orlando, I would love to meet up with you! I also see that you have some great reading on the horizon. Phillipa Gregory is one of my favorite brain candy treats ever! Let me know if you want to get together!

  5. August 30, 2011 2:59 pm

    Hang in there for the last few weeks! You’re almost there!

  6. August 30, 2011 9:38 pm

    You’re near the finish line … but as you know, the race is really just starting! : )

Leave a Reply

