Skip to content

Top Ten Tuesday: Books You Loved But Never Wrote A Review For

August 23, 2011

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted over at The Broke and the Bookish.  There is a weekly theme to write about, much like Musing Mondays and Booking for Through Thursday.

This week’s Top Ten is:  Books You Loved But Never Wrote A Review For.

I’m not usually a participant in this event as I’m more of a Tuesday Teaser gal but this is something I think about a lot. I have always considered myself a reader who blogs. I often wonder how to bring up books that I’ve read outside of blogging. I tend to talk about every book I read, now, on the blog but there are my favorites from my pre-blogging days that I think need to be talked about.

How do you highlight your favorites that you read before blogging days?m Do you reread them and then review or write thoughtful non-review pieces? I still haven’t found my perfect preferred method of doing this but maybe this list will help me collect my thoughts. Here we go. Ready?

1) V. by Thomas Pynchon
2) Everything Is Illuminated by Jonathan Safran Foer
3) For Whom the Bell Tolls by Ernest Hemingway
4) Narcissus and Goldmund by Herman Hesse
5) The Glass Bead Game by Herman Hesse
6) Steppenwolf by Herman Hesse
7) East of Eden by John Steinbeck
8 ) The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde
9) A Separate Peace by John Knowles
10) The Outsiders by S. E. Hinton

 There are a lot more, I’m sure, but these are my big fall backs when I list my favorites and I would really like to talk about them but, again, feel; like I need to talk about what I’m reading now, more.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 23, 2011 2:15 pm

    I have a ton of favorites from pre-blogging days as well. But I would have to reread them in order to write reviews!

  2. Veens permalink
    August 24, 2011 2:28 am

    That is a great list 🙂 I think I never reviewed books I read before blogging as well.

  3. August 24, 2011 8:50 am

    The only one of those I’ve read is The Outsiders. Most of your titles are new to me.

  4. August 24, 2011 11:35 am

    East of Eden was one of my favorites. I read it and then decided to start a book blog so I could rave about how wonderful it is. So it was my first book “reviewed.”

  5. August 25, 2011 10:27 pm

    I’ve been enjoying reading the answers to this question. It is a great question. Have to disagree with you on “Everything Is Illuminated.” It almost put me off of Foer forever.

  6. August 26, 2011 10:12 pm

    I haven’t read many on your list … adding to the ever-growing TBR!

    I’d have to re-read my pre-blogging books in order to write a decent review of them. In fact, just yesterday I re-shelved 11 books that I’ve read in the past year and have had stacked up “to be reviewed.” Too much time had passed for me to give them a fair analysis 😦

Leave a Reply

