Skip to content

TSS: Weekend with the Bard

August 21, 2011

The Sunday Salon.com



It’s funny: when a week starts, I often have no idea where it will go. Of course, with reading, I tend to have a pretty good idea where my travels will lead. Going into this week, I thought that I would have a light, fast, YA-based set of books on my nightstand. I did, in Wolfsbane and Falling for Hamlet, but I ended up taking a bit of a tangent to old England (or Denmark, rather) about midweek. I thought, in reading Ray’s adaptation, I should spin back by the original Hamlet.

The two YA stories were diverting, enough, but were nowhere near as much fun as Hamlet. I think that I enjoyed reading William’s work because there are so many references in modern life that come out from the script. It was super fun to put the review together since I was able to pull video from Hair and Dave Matthews to make a pretty depressing (albeit wonderful) play a bit brighter. I was also pointed toward the winner of The Children’s Book Council of Australia‘s choice for Picture Book of the Year. This year, they picked Nicki Greenberg’s hardback graphic novel… Hamlet!

Well, I thought, heading into this week I should take a break from the Bard but I, oddly I won’t be. Walking by my shelf to pick up a new book, I grabbed Anne Fortier’s Juliet. No, seriously, I didn’t go looking for another Shakespeare spin off; it just ended up in my hands! So far it’s a really fun read and perfect for unwinding after this crazy week. I did  a mini post about the lovely little romance already, so I’m already halfway there. We’ll see where it ends up putting me for the weeks ahead and if I end up sticking with the stage for a while or if this is a flash in the pan.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. August 21, 2011 3:22 am

    I never know other than in a broad outline where my week is going (business and reading both) . I wish I could be a bit more organized though.

    • August 22, 2011 6:26 am

      Sometimes I wish I were more organized and sometimes I wish I could go with the flow more. :O)

  2. August 21, 2011 10:42 am

    I like the cover of Juliet and am curious about it. Enjoy the rest of summer and your reading!

    • August 22, 2011 6:27 am

      Isn’t it pretty? It really fits the story, too, at least so far (about halfway in).

  3. August 21, 2011 11:20 am

    It is fun when reading takes on a theme like that! I hope that you enjoy Juliet!

  4. August 21, 2011 1:34 pm

    Juliet is on my wishlist. I hope you enjoy it!

    Have a great Sunday!

  5. August 21, 2011 1:47 pm

    I enjoy that reading takes us in so many directions without ever having to pack a suitcase. I need to add some YA books to my reading. Hope you have a great week reading.

    Mason
    Thoughts in Progress
    Freelance Editing By Mason

    • August 22, 2011 6:30 am

      There are a lot of good YA books out, right now, so you have a lot of great options. Enjoy your weekend!

  6. August 21, 2011 1:56 pm

    Like Heather said, it’s so fun when one stumbles upon a theme, especially if it isn’t what one was intending!

    • August 22, 2011 6:29 am

      My mom says that I am the eternal connector and can find themes in almost anything so it’s nice when there IS an actual concrete theme that, you know, like other people can see. ;O)

  7. August 21, 2011 9:06 pm

    You’re obviously smarter than I am! I have a feeling the YA books would have appealed to me more.

  8. August 21, 2011 9:13 pm

    I think Willie S. is trying to send you a message or something!

  9. August 22, 2011 8:27 am

    I’ve always had thus fear of Shakespeare, mainly because I think I wouldn’t be smart enough to get his writing! Maybe one day il put aside those fears and give him a try.

Leave a Reply

