Skip to content

BTT: Fluff

August 18, 2011

btt button

You’ve just had a long, hard, exhausting day, and all you want to do is curl up with something light, fun, easy, fluffy, distracting, and entertaining.

What book do you pick up?


If it’s simply based on the day, I usually just have my current book to keep me occupied. That could be “fluff” or something much deeper. I tend not to go for fluff in the moment. I also tend to be disappointed with things I think will be light and entertaining. I find that the most distracting stuff is often the deeper and darker stuff. My lighter things actually go with a lighter mood. That said, I can’t actually come up with a good example of fluff off the top of my head. I’m not a big chick-lit fan but I guess I do have my mysteries that would count as “fluff”. Maisie Dobbs is always easy for a good time, though I’ve run through the series and now I’m out of luck.  Woops!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. August 18, 2011 5:31 am

    I am sometimes disappointed by the books I expect to be light, too. Here is my BTT.

  2. August 18, 2011 7:31 am

    I usually tend to stick to whatever I’m reading at the moment too. I find reading in general a great distraction from long, hard days.

  3. August 18, 2011 7:41 am

    I pretty much agree with your answer. Here is my BTT answer.

  4. August 18, 2011 10:58 am

    Also not a big chic-lit fan. After a stressful day, if I’m in the mood to read, I usually pick up something I’ve read before.

    Here’s my answer at Whatever You Can Still Betray.

  5. August 18, 2011 11:07 am

    I lean toward light romance when I am tired or in a reading slump.

  6. August 18, 2011 11:17 am

    When I need fluff, I need bad fluff! LOL I’m now reading a book I thought was fluff, but it’s actually quite sophisticated with many literary qualities, and I’m disappointed! LOL

  7. August 18, 2011 11:21 am

    I love the marshmallow fluff picture! 🙂

  8. August 18, 2011 12:25 pm

    When I want fluff, I usually reach for a Dominick Dunne book, or something by Jilly Cooper. All those tales of the super rich who don’t know how to manage their lives, you know what I mean?

  9. August 18, 2011 2:26 pm

    Fluff-a-nutter!!! Makes great brownies too, lol.

    House Millar – BTT

    Aine

Leave a Reply

