Skip to content

Wolfsbane ~ Andrea Cremer

August 15, 2011


Genre: Young Adult Paranormal Romance
Publisher: Philomel
400 pages
ISBN: 9780399254833
Source: Book Store

It’s been a long time since I’ve had to wait for the next book in a series to come out. I tend to be the person that waits until all parts are out to go anywhere near the first one. I was suckered into reading Nightshade about half a year ago and I am just now coming to the second book in the set. Wolfsbane is really lovely, although I do think I would have benefited from rereading Nightshade before I dove into its sequel. Things to remember for the third book, I suppose.

Overall, the story is quite in line with the way second books tend to go. That is, there’s a whole lot of action and not a  great deal of explanation. While the first book did a lot of groundwork in the way of setting up the story, I found that Wolfsbane was just sort of (fun) rip-tear-ruin, action thriller. Don’t get me wrong; still present it the huge emphasis on character building, magical realm weaving and back-history that I fell in love with in the first book. It was just that there was a lot of blood and gore that needed to be handled to progress the story, I think.

The “love” story was the only thing that got under my skin a bit. Calla and, really, all of the other female characters, shine with this strong energy that isn’t usually put into girls and women in fiction. Though she has moments of weakness, the men in the story have their own shadows and doubts to flank any emotional misgivings that the XX-ers showed.  The men were charming, of course, even the ones who I didn’t initially like. But I think that because there was so much action and everyone was, for the most part, self-sufficient, the periodic pining and whining over love choices just seemed to distract when it came up. I mean, it wasn’t a huge issue as there was so much more going on but I did find myself rolling my eyes whenever Calla brought up her “difficult choice” between Shay and Ren.

Ah, but really, that was about it. I can’t say much in the way of the plot as the second book takes a completely different turn from the first. I can tell you that there is a very different cast of characters in the second installment, a cast I favored compared the first.  I’m pretty pumped to see where everything and everyone are headed with the next book, but next time, I will do a reread before I jump in.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 15, 2011 10:59 am

    I have been wondering if I would like these books after having a lot of success with some similar themed books in the recent past, and am glad to see that this one rates high marks. I think it would be cool to check these out and get invested in this story, though I am a little wary of a love triangle!

    • August 15, 2011 5:18 pm

      I wonder if you’ll enjoy this. I’ll be interested to know what you think if you do get to it.

  2. August 15, 2011 11:33 am

    I’m glad you enjoyed this one, but I don’t think it’s for me.

    • August 15, 2011 5:17 pm

      It probably isn’t but it was sort of fun for me even though it isn’t my usually fare.

  3. August 15, 2011 12:12 pm

    These trilogy girls always seem to have a “difficult choice” between two guys!

Leave a Reply

