Skip to content

TSS: The Sun Is Up The Sky Is Blue It’s Beautiful And So Are You

August 14, 2011

The Sunday Salon.com

Ho, hum, it’s always Sunday. A lovely week as we tucked everyone back into the first week of school, here, in Atlanta. I may never get used to kids hitting the books before Labor Day but at least we all get out earlier.

In reading, I finished two books that were about as far away from each other on the genre spectrum as you could possibly place two books.  Maureen Johnson’s 13 Little Blue Envelopes and Johan Harstad’s Buzz Aldrin, What Happened To You In All The Confusion? were both very good in their own ways. And of course, I did actually find connections between the two (more than “they both happen in Europe”) but these said connections probably don’t make any sense to anyone aside from me. (The eternal connector, right mom?)

So, let’s see, what else did I do this week? My preschool class found a caterpillar in the playground garden. This, I of course, turned into a soapbox opportunity on education. I also found out that the strange numbness in my hands over the past few weeks is, in fact, pregnancy induced carpal tunnel syndrome. Fun! Being 29 weeks, today, I’m not exactly distraught as I don’t have too much longer to “suffer” through. I am, though, going to try out a vlog, this week at some point.

For next week, I have a lot of YA. Actually, it’s pretty exclusively YA but all books I’m pretty pumped about. I’m about done with Andrea Cremer’s Wolfsbane which I think is a lovely second addition in her Nighshade series. It’s intelligent and fun, smart and sexy, all without being overly dramatic. I also bought two new books, yesterday, again both YA. Michelle Ray’s modern interpretation of one of my favorite oldies, Falling for Hamlet and Elana Johnson’s Possession. The latter is one that I wasn’t interested in, initially, but sort of came to through Lenore’s (from Presenting Lenore) month long focus on YA Dystopian stories.

That’s about all in my little corner. Oh! Aside from this: if you haven’t check out my Q&A with Susan Gregg Gilmore for a chance to win a copy of her The Improper Life of Bezellia Grove!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 14, 2011 9:05 am

    I think I’ll also have a YA week next week! I probably will start a non-fiction book on the side, though, so I don’t feel too guilty about having so much fun! :–)

  2. August 14, 2011 9:28 am

    School starts this week here. I think it’s too early as well, but it really doesn’t concern me anymore.

  3. August 14, 2011 11:40 am

    My granddaughter started school this week, but my youngest grandson has one more week before he begins again.

    The books you mentioned sound captivating…I really love the cover on The Improper Life of Bezellia Grove.

    Here’s MY SUNDAY SALON POST

  4. August 14, 2011 1:49 pm

    School here starts next week, and I am anxious for the kids to be back in the classroom! It has been a long summer, you know? I also really liked that piece that you posted on education, and thought that it spoke to me very deeply. I hope that you have a great week, both in your reading and in other areas!

  5. Veens permalink
    August 14, 2011 5:31 pm

    The school starting and all that is so different here. I hope you enjoy all your reads this coming week, and enjoy your week too.

  6. August 14, 2011 7:40 pm

    Will be interested to hear your thoughts on Possession!

  7. August 14, 2011 11:38 pm

    I love reading YA and lately it seems like I have found very little of it! Enjoy the week 🙂

  8. August 15, 2011 9:52 pm

    Love your post title … now I’ll have Dear Prudence running through my head all night. Not a bad thing!

    I feel so bad about your carpal tunnel … it can be so painful from what I’ve heard.

Leave a Reply

