Skip to content

Fallopian Friday

July 29, 2011


Long before I started blogging about books, “My Friends Live In the Computer” pertained to a group of women, strewn about the world, all due in March 2008. Many of us have stayed together in person or through facebook. What does that have to do with books? Well, I’ll get to it.

My primary motivation to posting this, today, is in honor of one of our mamas giving birth, naturally (that’s with no drugs, thank you) to a 10lb 6oz baby girl. Impressive, right?  A few of us went naturally the first time but I’ve come to this really cool appreciation for those mamas who decided to go naturally the second time who had the comfort of an epidural the first time.

Being about 12 weeks away from my very own second birth, I’ve started thinking about my impending delivery. We delivered Kai naturally with a lot of prep work. We have done little in the way of refreshing our knowledge but it’s largely something I’ve stayed up to date with over the three and a half years since we had Kai.

Short of heading to The Farm for my birth (which I maintain as totally possible as we’re not that far away), I only have a few birthing options in Atlanta. We’re not a city or state that recognizes midwifery outside of Nurse Midifery and there are no free-standing birthing centers. There are a few home birth practitioners but, quite frankly, I like the idea of the mess being, you know, not in my home. I had this super idea about at least laboring in the waves (brought on by this past week’s trip to the beach), but the idea of hiking up the beach back to a pool or bed in the middle of transition is just not appealing, now, and I highly doubt it will become more appealing in the middle of labor.

Ah, so,I suppose, I have to settle for the same fabulous team that has seen me through Kai’s birth and Gavin’s pregnancy, thus far. My husband is a fabulous Douala and could probably actually be a midwife if he wanted to be. I have no fear that things will go well, this time, even if they’re not in the ideal, crunchy granola setting.

Any who, the book part. I love my reading (duh) and I have to give a big old shout out to four of my favorite birthing/breastfeeding books that saw me through pregnancy, birth and the first year.

Ina May’s Guide to Childbirth by Ina May Gaskin
Born in the USA: How a Broken Maternity System Must Be Fixed to Put Women and Children First by Marsden Wagner
The Birth Book: Everything You Need to Know to Have a Safe and Satisfying Birth (Sears Parenting Library) by William Sears and Martha Sears
The Breastfeeding Cafe: Mothers Share the Joys, Challenges, and Secrets of Nursing by Barbara L. Behrmann

I’m adding an edit, here:

If you have a favorite birth, breastfeeding or body book to add, let me know and I’ll update!

Breastfeeding Made Simple: Seven Natural Laws for Nursing Mothers  by Nancy Mohrbacher, Kathleen Kendall-Tackett
Baby Catcher by Peggy Vincent

Any who, I’ll probably post a bit more on this as things wind down but I just wanted to put my preliminary post up since it’s heavy on my mind, today.

 

Welcome Josie!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Johanna permalink
    July 29, 2011 10:27 am

    I’d like to add the book Breastfeeding Made Simple: Seven Natural Laws for Nursing Mothers by Nancy Mohrbacher and Kathleen Kendall-Tackett to your list as it was a HUGE help for me with my first child and was a great refresher in preparing to breastfeed my second child. Welcome to the world, Josie!

  2. July 29, 2011 10:50 am

    Wow, ten pounds, 6 oz – that’s quite a huge baby! I love your idea of birthing in the waves, but you’re right – you really need a house right on the beach so you can just stroll on out there at the right time. In fact, a house on the beach might be nice even for us who aren’t pregnant! :–)

  3. July 29, 2011 11:24 am

    Love this post! Thanks for the reading list. How did Kellen become a doula and how does one become a midwife? Do you need a medical background? I honestly now find this possibility fascinating.

    • July 29, 2011 5:04 pm

      Enjoy! Oh, and my lovely midwife buddy who used to be in the bay area has moved but can give me resources for you. And Kellen’s not REALLY a Doula.but he was my make shift one. You can hire a doula who can be a very wonderful thing if you need extra birth support. And a midwife is a specific training that is not an MD or RN but many OBs have done a fair bit of WF training and many MidWives have had extensive medical training. In picking either it’s important to get good references and ask a LOT of questions. I’ve been with my practice for almost seven years and was with them long before I started having kids.

  4. July 29, 2011 11:59 am

    Our own abilities are reinforced with the stories of our friends and family that welcome children in to the world naturally. Pam, Amy, Margaret, Jami… I read the books, but it it was the stories that gave me strength.

    The Baby Catcher by Peggy Vincent will move you beyond belief!

  5. July 30, 2011 9:05 am

    10 pounds, 6 ounces is a good sized baby – I think Vance was 3 months old before he weighed that much.

  6. July 30, 2011 9:15 am

    These birithing stories make me smile, and just a little sad too, wondering where the time has gone 🙂
    Congrats to the new mom — that was a healthy sized baby to deliver, particularly without any medicinal help.

  7. Jami permalink
    July 30, 2011 1:26 pm

    Thank you very much ladies! I just now got to read this and you have managed to make me cry. I am sure it will not take much for that to happen these days. All of my March Moms are the reason I was able to do this natural. The strength and resources I have pulled from you ladies makes a huge difference and I hope you realize you play a big part in that as well Pam! Our first deliveries were very similar BUT I got an epi and you did not, now I can say I KNOW the difference and am actually glad I do know the difference. Love you lady and thank you very much for the support over the last 4 years!

Leave a Reply

