Skip to content

Magic, Music and…Republicans?

July 17, 2011

The Sunday Salon.com




I know that I’m probably the very last person to post about this silly franchise, as everyone else went to the midnight showings. I started reading this series, for the first time, when he was about a week old. I have always read aloud to him but on our third spin through the set, he’s finally latching on to the characters and stories. My mom and Step-Popi live right near Harry Potter World and are, might I say, pretty die hard Harry fans. We’ve been once and are preparing to head down, again, in a little over a month. The most recent excitement about this silly thing, though, is that, yesterday, a very special present arrived from Orlando, in the form of Ron Weasley’s wand!

Moving on to music, Peter Mayer is sort of an obscure musical reference who really should be much more popular. He is one of my favorites, not only for pure aural quality but also for his amazing lyrics. If you don’t want to listen to the whole thing, I’ll just pick out my favorite bit for you.

Death may raise its voice today
O but life will have its say
Speaking in lovers and in children
In poets pens and philosopher's visions
Life is a planet's daring dream
Earth's devotion, spoken in green



The second is Earth Town Square which appeals to the part of me that hopes that globalization will be a productive, peaceful thing. Sometimes I get so wrapped up in my macrobiotic obsession that I forget that inovation, love and life are often only born from breaking down borders and moving out of our comfort zones. Here’s to a more connected global community, universal corporations be forgotten…

Here’s my favorite from this clip:

And the place looks strangely tiny,
When you see it from the moon.
And there's music in the park:
Marimbas and guitars
Bag pipes, sitars.
Now it's feeling like a small town
With 6 billion people downtown
Even Babble can't compare... to Earth Town Square.

In the same vein, I have to give  a big shout out to equally obscure, albiet, cultish Emma’s Revolution with a fabulous ode to Peace.

Lastly, I am about halfway through Curtis Sittenfeld’s American Wife.


Right, so, Harry Potter and two really left wing musical guests wouldn’t really lend themselves to my reading of a book based loosely on the life of America’s most recent Republican First Lady. (yes, that’s Laura, you silly Lefties. Michelle is officially on the Democrat ticket. Enough!) I had no idea that the protagonist was supposed to be Laura when I picked up the book and while I am a bit appalled that it ever ended up in my hands, I’m sort of enjoying it. I’ll save my deeper comments for the post going up, hopefully, tomorrow, but I thought it would be a funny end to this post, especially since it sort of snuck up on me.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Meredith permalink
    July 17, 2011 10:02 am

    You’re reading about a republican? I am dying in shock 🙂

    • July 17, 2011 10:08 am

      Hahaha it was a mistake! And actually, she’s a registered democrat when they meet and I believe she stays one. The book is, actually, oddly about how different their politics are. So haha! Or something. ;O)

  2. July 17, 2011 3:50 pm

    What fun! We just got back from the latest Harry Potter movie.

  3. Veens permalink
    July 17, 2011 11:12 pm

    Can I borrow Ron’s Wand, please!! 🙂 This was a fun post 🙂

Leave a Reply

