Skip to content

Blogging the Living Tradition

June 22, 2011

chalice

I am not sure how this next week will go as far as blogging and reading are concerned.

No, unfortunately, I am not headed down to the Big Easy for ALA; I am instead headed to Charlotte to meet up with my Mum and Step Dad for an annual conference put on by the UUA.

Never heard of a Unitarian Universalist?

While the combination of the two, contemporarily manifested, is not going to win any easy-to-recognize contests, you may know a few old souls in the literary field who went by one or the other before the two merged in the 60’s.

Try these famous folks on for size:

Louisa May Alcott
Ray Bradbury
e.e. Cummings
Charles Dickens
Ralph Waldo Emerson
Nathaniel Hawthorne
Henry Wadsworth Longfellow
Oliver Wendell Holmes (Jr. and Sr.)
Beatrix Potter
Sylvia Plath
Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley
Henry David Thoreau
Kurt Vonnegut

Right, then, so carrying on the living tradition, I will be following in the footsteps of some of my favorite writers as I head to North Carolina, this week.

Transcendentalism, existentialism and lots of good workshops, here I come!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 22, 2011 8:20 am

    Definitely jealous of you getting to go to GA. I really wanted to go this year, but life had other plans. I hope you have a blast!

  2. June 22, 2011 2:55 pm

    I hope you have a great time!

  3. June 23, 2011 12:49 pm

    Have fun at UA! I had no idea that so many authors were either Unitarians or Universalists. I wonder how many current authors are UUs? I hope you share your adventures in GA with us. Have a safe trip. 🙂

Leave a Reply

