Skip to content

TSS: Introducing Baby Boy Stennett 2.0!

June 5, 2011

The Sunday Salon.com

Right now, we have no names picked out but we’ll set to working on that. Now that we know what we’re working with, I feel like we have at least a direction to go in.

More importantly, though…

I have to say, this, as a reader, blogger and mother: I am proud to have two boys.

Why? Wouldn’t one think that I would be more excited with two girls, to teach them law and sports and other things I think women should be encouraged in at this, the year 2011? Well, see, the thing is, I have another goal. The goal is one that has been on my mind since before we had children of our own. The dilemma is the failing of male academics. I know that this goes against the historical norm and that, for thousands of years, young men have been the only ones pushed in a scholarly way. I fear, now, along with a significant portion of the mass media, it seems, that boys are being left behind.

More and more, college campuses are being populated by young, brilliant, driven women, more socially adept at studying, networking and researching. I can’t help but feel as though the way we raise our young men is doing them a disservice. I know that with the rise of Percy Jackson, Harry Potter and the like, there has been, I am sure, an upswing. However, I do feel as though the art of reading is not necessarily offered as a suitable option for boys who are seen as better playing army in the mud.

I wouldn’t go so far as to claim any sort of Darwinian or Calvinistic approach to assuming why boys and men are not as geared toward reading. It is quite the opposite, really. I think it has more to do with nurture, or lack thereof in this case, toward a reading life for what we assume are hyperactive, dirt and gun obsessed little beings. For that reason, I’m starting my journey and I’m starting it early. My husband is not a novel reader but he does read a heavy amount of non-fiction and periodicals, many of which he shares with me and, in turn, with Kai. It is completely paramount, to me, that our boys are at least encouraged, if not forced, in the direction of positive early reading experiences.

So now you all know why I am so very proud to call myself a mom of two boys, as a reader and a literature lover, but mostly as an adventurer who is on a mission for a better reading future.

Oh, I’m just so dramatic and a little bit, let’s call it “emotional”. Can you blame me?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. June 5, 2011 8:21 am

    Our society does seem to be favoring young girls – they’re encouraged to be princesses, why aren’t boys encouraged to be princes? Having raised a boy, I think they’re a little easier to raise – not as much drama, etc. Congratulations and good luck!

  2. June 5, 2011 10:04 am

    I had three sons, followed by one daughter. Now I have five grandsons and two granddaughters. I have noticed the tendencies of some teachers to expect unrealistic behaviors from boys in the classrooms, which then turns them off. Already, my youngest grandson (age eight) who loves to read, which I encourage, dislikes school. His reasons have everything to do with the teacher’s expectations of behavior.

    Okay, I know my “rant” sounds like I’m negating the teachers’ need for order in the classroom, but there are definitely ways to cope without stifling the young boys who are seeking a way to incorporate their own learning style into a teacher’s rigid format.

    Okay…enough said. Good luck with that, and I applaud your goals! Congrats on another son.

    Here’s MY SUNDAY SALON POST

  3. June 5, 2011 10:32 am

    Wow, what a totally cool picture! Can’t wait to see him on the outside! :–)

  4. June 5, 2011 10:47 am

    Congratulations!!!! 😀

  5. June 5, 2011 11:35 am

    Congratulations on the news! I also think it’s great that you are going to choose to raise your boys with more than trucks and guns in mind, and think that more parents should do the same. I know you will be great at it, with both of them!

  6. June 5, 2011 2:26 pm

    Congratulations on your baby boy!

    I don’t think we’re doing boys a disservice because if reading was a problem for girls, it would be the least of our problems. Experts have this statistic that most American adults read only one book a year. I think that’s a problem that gets trickled down to our kids, both girls and boys. If reading isn’t being modeled at home by adults, many children don’t see the importance of this behavior.

    When I was in middle through high school if I wasn’t an avid reader already, I wouldn’t have became one because of the teachers around me. I wasn’t encouraged to read for pleasure. Reading was an ends to a means – reading to get a good grade or finish a homework assignment.

    I have two boys and a girl and they know that reading is important and expected of them. I believe that if we expect and teach certain behaviors to our children, then we don’t have to worry as much. 😉

  7. June 5, 2011 5:01 pm

    Congratulations! I can’t wait to see your new little guy on the outside!

  8. June 5, 2011 5:32 pm

    As you know, I’m ridiculously happy for you 🙂

  9. June 5, 2011 9:24 pm

    It’s good to be happy with what you’ve got, but I don’t have any delusions that my now 15-year-old soon will care for me in my old age. I doubt he will even talk to me! So I’ll keep my daughters, even with their excessive drama. As for my son, if he can’t trade on the thousands of years of male oppression and get ahead, he doesn’t deserve to! Glad you are more positive about boys!

Leave a Reply

