Skip to content

48 Hour Book Challenge: Sweet Escapes

June 3, 2011


Alright, folks, I’m a little past fashionably late for the party, as usual.

After a highly emotional school week, I am more excited than I have ever been to drop my cares and head for the stacks.  am, at 6:30 p.m. Friday, officially starting on my attempt at the 48 Hour Book Challenge being hosted by MotherReader.

Because I run full tilt through my weeks, I don’t often sign up for 48 hour challenges, simply because I like to, you know, acknowledge that I live with a little boy who needs my love and energy and a husband who also likes to be in the presence of a normal person without her nose in a book. The reason I’m hopping on the bandwagon, this weekend, is because, for the very first time, our little guy is spending the night with his aunt and uncle. A very exciting trip, for sure, and while it’s only a day and a night, it will allow me a little time to snuggle up with my book stack and not feel too guilty about it.

I also finally managed to get myself into a little bit of YA for a change of pace so that’s a bit of an excuse to snuggle up and relax with delicious things. I also have some big girl books that I’d like to make some headway in, past the fun.

I should make it at least 30 hours or so, stopping to rest and, oh, you know, finding out the gender of our little baby in the works. Nothing big, you know! I will, of course, take a break to update here and Facebook as soon as we know.

Without further adieu, here’s the stack and the cover list:







Good luck to all!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. June 3, 2011 9:33 pm

    For half a sec I thought maybe you were making this a Libba Bray challenge 🙂 I did get Beauty Queens at the library today, I might add it to my stack when I start reading tomorrow.

    • June 3, 2011 9:57 pm

      I might as well, right? All I’ll have, when I’m done with this stack, is Beauty Queens. Hope you enjoy it!

  2. June 3, 2011 11:02 pm

    Good luck to you too! I know this weekend must be so exciting for you! Uninterrupted reading is a small slice of heaven. I can’t wait to read your thoughts on The Memory of Love. Happy reading!

  3. June 3, 2011 11:08 pm

    Glad you were able to get some time for reading this weekend, especially after having a stressful week. (I totally hear you on that – my library’s been aswarm with kids since school let out this week!) Good luck and happy reading!

  4. June 4, 2011 2:32 am

    Good luck! It’s nice to have that weekend to finally get around to reading without tending to the daily things like, oh, raising a family (heh). 🙂

  5. June 4, 2011 8:27 am

    Have fun! I hope you get lots of reading in!

  6. June 4, 2011 7:03 pm

    Wow! Alot of Libba Bray! Good luck with the 48HBC. I’m cheering you on!

    • June 5, 2011 7:50 am

      Haha yes, it is, but it’s proving to be worthwhile. I’m having a fun challenge, so far. Thanks for cheering me on!

  7. June 4, 2011 9:34 pm

    Thanks for posting the A Great and Terrible Beauty cover. THAT’S what Kate Brian’s The Book of Spells reminded me of. It was bugging me!

    • June 5, 2011 7:50 am

      Oh, I’m glad I could help you out! I guess I need to check out Kate Brian’s Book of Spells, now!

  8. June 5, 2011 9:58 pm

    Oh, I’m kinda intrigued by the idea of a Libba Bray challenge. I might need to get on that bandwagon.

Leave a Reply

