Skip to content

BTT: Reviews

June 2, 2011

btt button

Do you read book reviews? Whose do you trust? Do they affect your reading habits? Your buying habits?

Well, of course! I read other bloggers’ reviews and sometimes the New York Times review. I’m not sure how much other reviewers really influence my reading decisions as much as give me exposure to new books and new writers, though.  I have strange taste in books so it’s hard to find someone to rely on completely, good or bad, for a driving opinion. Like I said, though, there are many opinions and options for exposure out there so using the entire field as a back splash for reading inspiration is more useful to me than seeking out specific opinions.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. June 2, 2011 11:25 am

    I love reading book reviews and have picked up many books I would have possibly never heard of if not for my blog reading 🙂

  2. June 2, 2011 12:23 pm

    I read a lot of reviews, both from bloggers and from other sources as well. I would say that the reviews that I read have had a significant impact on the books that I choose to buy and read. I often find myself adding book after book to my wish list when going through the blogs and reading reviews.

  3. Sally permalink
    June 2, 2011 1:52 pm

    I like to read reviews but I don’t base my book buying decisions on them.
    Sally.
    http://theelifylop.blogspot.com/2011/06/booking-through-thursday-20.html

  4. June 2, 2011 6:19 pm

    Yes, I read reviews and they often lead me to new books. But the review itself doesn’t make me want to read the book, it’s more like seeing a new book makes me interested in it.

  5. June 2, 2011 7:11 pm

    I do the same thing – I read reviews so I can add new books to my wish list. A negative review won’t necessarily prompt me to stay away from a book, if the synopsis sounds interesting to me, since reading tastes and styles can be so different. I normally start a round of book blog reading with my Goodreads account open in another tab 🙂

  6. June 2, 2011 7:24 pm

    Interesting that you said you have strange taste in books. I wouldn’t say my taste is strange, but I have very definite taste in books. A book has to compel me to read it, to the point where I don’t want to put it down.

    Either that, or I simply have to love the place it takes me so much that I want to spend time there. Otherwise I feel like I’m just reading it to get it done, somewhat like a school assignment.

    OK, so off-topic a little there! 🙂 Hope you’ll stop by my BTT post and say hello:

    Cindy at Cindy’s Book Club

  7. June 2, 2011 8:53 pm

    I have a good friend who I can trust about taste in books. Our taste isn’t always the same, but she can pretty much predict if I will like a book or not. I read reviews too!

  8. June 3, 2011 12:56 am

    My reading habits have definitely changed as a result of blogging and being exposed to other blogger’s reviews.

Leave a Reply

