Skip to content

Booktracks

May 27, 2011

I’m sure that this has been a topic posted about before. I can’t find one that I’ve answered from BTT or like memes but I’m sure I’ve just missed it.

There is an off chance that I’m just crazy, though.

So, here it is: I score every book I read.

I start assigning, on a micro level, songs to every event or chapter in a book. The more important thing for me to find, though, is the “all around”. This is the song that I can listen to the whole reading and find that it mesh well with the story at large. Sometimes I can tell you exactly why I find a song fits with a particular book or, at least, a certain character. Sometimes, it’s anyone’s guess as to why a particular song has latched on to any given book.

This all brings me to my most recent reading adventure. I wasn’t in love, at first, but slowly, I am falling head over heels with Jennifer Egan’s A Visit from the Goon Squad.


The following Avett Brothers song is pretty much dead on for most of the desperation and lost dreams in the book. It’s a nice kind of sadness, both in book and in song.



Oh and, of course, there’s the following Ray song for the lovely Selected Works of T.S. Spivet:

Yeah, that’s right, I like adorable boys with great voices who sing sad songs. I also like weird books, seemingly about nothing.

So, I have to know: Do you assign songs to books? Books to songs? Am I the only one who does this? I can’t be. Your thoughts?

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 28, 2011 4:38 pm

    I don’t assign songs to books but I know that Alita from Alita Reads used to do something similar. You’re write that it’s easy to see why certain songs go with a book you’re reading.

Leave a Reply

