Skip to content

BTT: Don’t read the Mainstream

May 26, 2011

btt button

Do you ever feel like you’re in a reading rut? That you don’t read enough variety? That you need to branch out, spread your literary wings and explore other genres, flavors, styles?

In recent years, I have sometimes fallen into ruts. Right now, though, I can say that I’ve read, in the last few months, especially, a huge variety. From chick lit to YA to murder mysteries to strange, existential ramblings, I’ve taken quite a ride through the literary grocery store aisles. Of course, I have my favorites but one, simply, can’t always eat chocolate cake; one would get terribly sick.

I just finished The Selected Works of T. S. Spivet and I would like to say that I would keep reading and rereading it for the rest of my life if I could. that wouldn’t make for a very interesting blog, nor would it make for very interesting bookshelves, though, those aren’t the only reasons I read, personally. I do wish that there were more options in the same vein as Spivet, though, more along the lines of Sartre and Pynchon and Vonnegut. Alas, that fare hardly seems to float the mainstream and so it’s pretty much impossible to become stuck in a rut as there just aren’t that many reading options on that track.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. May 26, 2011 7:01 am

    I like the analogy with the chocolate cake. And you raise another important issue – the way non-mainstream is becoming harder to find.

  2. May 26, 2011 9:20 am

    I find that reading books that are universally raved over tend to put me into a rut. I go into the book thinking it’s going to be a life altering read and then it’s not and I start to distrust literature, in a sense. So I guess that would go along with staying away from the mainstream. 🙂

  3. May 26, 2011 9:21 am

    Love the chocolate cake analogy!

    Here is my BTT.

  4. May 26, 2011 10:07 am

    Though I do read lots of different things, there are some genres that I sadly neglect, like fantasy, paranormal, and science fiction. I want to read more of these genres, but I am always so behind on review copies that this never happens. I think I am going to try to branch out a bit and get some different material in there. It can only do me good!

  5. May 26, 2011 11:16 am

    I don’t like to follow trends, but have occasionally dipped my toe in that pool. I pull back on certain genres, though. Not a fan of teenage angst…I worked with teens over the years, and reading about them feels too much like work! LOL

    Here’s MY THURSDAY MEMES POST

  6. May 26, 2011 11:30 am

    My reading varies even if I sometimes may have periods of falling in love with a certain genre or author or whatever.
    http://dawntreader-island2.blogspot.com/2011/05/httpbtt2.html

  7. May 26, 2011 4:34 pm

    I try to change it up as much as I can but I definitely fall into ruts and get sick of one genre.
    Sally.
    http://theelifylop.blogspot.com/2011/05/booking-through-thursday-19.html

  8. May 31, 2011 5:09 pm

    I agree that a varied reading diet is the very best kind!

Leave a Reply

