Skip to content

TSS: Pits, Planes and Picture Books

May 1, 2011

The Sunday Salon.com

I, generally, don’t count myself in the category of “historical fiction lovers” but every now and then, like, say, this week, I find myself there. My two reviews from the past seven days come in heavily weighted in the history area. In fact, they’re both from around the same time, if far from the same place.

Wings was down home in Texas, tracking the short lived but well lived, career of the WASP.  Far to Go was a less fiery, albeit just as interesting, tale of historical woe, played out in Europe through the thick of the war. I don’t know if it’s through Maisie that I’ve grown to love the time period or if it’s just a stage I’m going through. Growing up in a relatively Jewish family, I have done my fair share of WWII reading. These two (or more if you start to include the incoming Maisie stories) have a different ring to them than the Holocaust and genocide stories of yesteryear.

Ah, but in other bookish news, history aside, when all is said and done, of course, one thing remains the reason my heart continues to beat. For that, I am luck to rehighlight little Audie’s story which I am so glad is hitting the shelves!

I have noticed, since the days before my blog, that there seem to be many more pit-friendly reads out there but this is the first I’ve seen for such small readers. And along with this little, ahem, tail, I, obviously have to show off a little bit when  it comes to my own pack:

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 1, 2011 11:49 am

    Sounds like wonderful reading journeys…thanks for sharing.

    Here’s MY SUNDAY SALON POST

  2. May 1, 2011 1:35 pm

    Oh, man. I am a sucker for pics of kids with dogs. Love it!

  3. May 1, 2011 7:16 pm

    What a beautiful dog! I am glad to hear that you are loving historical fiction at this moment in time. It’s one of my very favorite genres, and I hope that you find more out there to love.

  4. May 1, 2011 8:51 pm

    I hate when an entire breed gets picked on when a few dogs were taught to be aggressive. Love the photo.

Leave a Reply

