Skip to content

BTT: Coming Soon to a Theater Near You

April 28, 2011
 

 

btt button

If you could see one book turned into the perfect movie–one that would capture everything you love, the characters, the look, the feel, the story–what book would you choose?

Oh, goodness, I have no idea. I would love to see Wings, the book I’m reading, right now, turned into a movie because it just has so much spunk. I would also love to see the Maisie stories on the silver screen. I, generally, hate movies made of books because I think there is always too much left out when words do a much better job than pictures.

My husband, the film major, though, tends to think the other way. He does admit, though, that his indie films capture much more of the “literary” feel than a big block buster. I’m nervous about how the impending Hunger Games film will roll but, ah, alas, only time shall reveal!

 
5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 28, 2011 9:52 am

    I would love to see The Lonely Polygamist turned into a movie, though it would probably have to be a mini-series to get everything in there! I have to admit that I am not always crazy about books being turned into movies for the same reasons that you mention. There are some good ones out there, but not enough, in my opinion.

  2. April 28, 2011 12:01 pm

    I am nervous about Hunger Games too. I am so worried that they are going to disappoint me!

    Here is my answer: http://www.lisasworldofbooks.com/2011/04/booking-through-thursday_28.html

  3. April 28, 2011 1:52 pm

    Sounds like a good choice

    stop and see mine : http://tributeboksmama.blogspot.com

  4. Chelsea permalink
    April 28, 2011 1:55 pm

    I’m also freaking out just a smidge about the upcoming Hunger Games movie – I won’t be afraid to riot if they get it really, truly wrong. Thanks for a great BTT!

  5. April 28, 2011 4:03 pm

    Totally agree I hate it when movies leave things out which is why I usually prefer books.
    Sally.
    http://theelifylop.blogspot.com/2011/04/booking-through-thursday-15.html

Leave a Reply

