Skip to content

BTT: I’m a Cover Not a Fighter.

April 21, 2011

btt button

CAN you judge a book by its cover?

These days, I think that marketing groups and publishing houses do a fine job of really “getting” the target audience and desired readership through cover design. Because of the focus groups and attention to cover design, yes, you probably can judge a book by it’s cover, these days.

For the most part, I think that each genre has come up with rather formulaic selling points for their visual representation. While this all may be true, I still won’t actually judge a book by its cover! There are a few that have thrown me off, mostly books that looked like fluff or chick lit, but ended up being pretty heavy. I have rarely been disappointed by a misrepresented cover; though, again, I have been pleasantly surprised by a great story behind a lackluster cover.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. April 21, 2011 7:38 am

    I like your answer. I tend to avoid chick lit looking books too. I have been surprised a few times when I discover that one of those authors isn’t chick lit at all. A pleasant surprise mind you.

  2. April 21, 2011 9:07 am

    I try not to buy books for their lovely or inviting covers, but I still do it. Guess I’ll never learn!

  3. April 21, 2011 10:13 am

    I like your answer. Some great points.

    http://www.lisasworldofbooks.com/2011/04/booking-through-thursday_21.html

  4. April 21, 2011 10:16 am

    Great answer – I wish I had the willpower you do, but I find a lot of the books I pick up to read are due to the cover art.
    Happy Thursday!

  5. April 21, 2011 10:45 am

    I have read so many books lately that have had misleading covers, that I have to believe that I cannot, in fact, judge a book by it’s cover. I used to think that I could, but I have been completely disabused of that notion by this point.

  6. April 21, 2011 11:08 am

    Very good answer. I agree these days publishing companies do a much better job with creating covers, but I still have been tricked every now and again.

  7. April 21, 2011 1:54 pm

    Very good answer, covers can be mis-leading at times.

  8. April 21, 2011 2:34 pm

    Yes, covers can be misleading. When they are good, they are really good, though. There are 2 different art forms and it would be great if authors had more input into the design, to help convey the book’s theme. 🙂

  9. April 21, 2011 2:56 pm

    I do think that chick lit looking book covers probably do the most harm to books that aren’t chick lit. And fantasy covers can be awful too by making the books look so cheesy!

  10. April 21, 2011 3:15 pm

    I hate that a lot of cover are so similar lately. I like covers that are a bit more original but when it comes down to it I don’t judge a book by it’s cover so it doesn’t really matter.
    Sally.
    http://theelifylop.blogspot.com/2011/04/booking-through-thursday-14.html

  11. April 21, 2011 6:14 pm

    Agreed! The story is always more important than the cover!

  12. April 22, 2011 7:46 pm

    I agree, you can’t really judge a book by its cover.

Leave a Reply

