Skip to content

It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year!

April 16, 2011

When I was in elementary and middle school, I adored the week that the book fair rolled through. I excitedly sat with my friends and picked my books on the preview sheet. Really, it’s one of the only things I vividly remember from school. When I moved on to the adult world, I had to be content with book stores and small book fairs in my area. I haven’t gotten around to making it to LA or New York to the mega-book conventions (though I’d love to!) and before I started blogging, I can honestly say that I didn’t know that they existed.

Oh, but the beauty of working in education, yes, as young as preschool, is that I get to play again!

Even in our tiny school, I get excited about picking books; I get excited about Kai picking books; I get excited for all of our students to walk into the lobby and get excited…about books. I just love that Kai gets excited about picking out books that he’s starting to be able to read to me. Ah, they’re small words but words, just the same.

I know I’ve been blogging about Kai’s reading, lately, but it really is picking up and I’m loving every second of it! He’s really putting letters together and it makes reading with him very exciting. Ah, but back to the point of this: The Book Fair!

Here’s our loot and I can say we didn’t pick a loser in the bunch, thank you.


2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 18, 2011 9:42 am

    I usually volunteer at the Scholastic Book Fair twice a year, and I just love doing it. I get to bring home so many wonderful books for my kids and get the chance to recommend books to everyone that comes into the warehouse. It’s such a joy to be able to do it every year! Glad that you had such a good time!

  2. April 21, 2011 8:57 am

    I did like the book fairs when they came to my school, but what I enjoyed even more were the scholastic (and I can’t remember the other one) 2 or 3 page flyers that we could take home and order from. I would circle 2-3 titles and mom would let me order at least one each time. We never knew when they would be coming in, but when the teacher handed out the order I always had something to bring home!

Leave a Reply

