Skip to content

BTT: Shelf Awareness

April 7, 2011

btt button

So … the books that you own (however many there may be) … do you display them proudly right there in plain sight for all the world to see? (At least the world that comes into your living room.)

Or do you keep them tucked away in your office or bedroom or library or closet or someplace less “public?”

Oh, they’re all on shelves, alphabetically, in the my living room, thank you!   I’ve always had them in the open, not so much for anyone aside from myself. Our floor plan is pretty open, aside from the main bedroom, so I like for them to just be central for me to pick from in passing. This is my favorite book shelf, the day that my lovely husband finished it:

The others are not quite that pretty; they’re the garden variety, Target kind. Still, they’re pretty when filled with my favorite books!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2011 6:50 am

    Nice shelf. I’ll have to expand my book space soon, having something like that would be cool.

  2. April 7, 2011 8:24 am

    I have mine shelved in alphabetical order, but they’re all upstairs!

  3. April 7, 2011 9:39 am

    what a cute book shelf send to aust? lol jokes,

    The book mystress, xx

  4. April 7, 2011 9:45 am

    A lot of my books are out where everyone can see them, but because I have a huge inventory and a problem knowing when to stop collecting, there are a few that are hidden away in other areas of the house. My favorite books go on the built in shelf that is close to the ceiling, and every room has at least one bookcase in it. I love the picture of the shelf that you posted as well. It’s very unusual and cool!

  5. April 7, 2011 10:17 am

    I need to organize my books! They are seriously everywhere from the basement to the upstairs bedrooms and in no particular order. I have some huge Target shelves, two beautiful West Elm shelves that I got for half off, but most of the books are on the floor. I would love to convert our tiny guest room into a nice reading room one day!

  6. April 7, 2011 11:30 am

    Nice shelf. I wish my books were alphabetically organized.
    Sally.
    http://theelifylop.blogspot.com/2011/04/booking-through-thursday-12.html

  7. April 7, 2011 1:07 pm

    LOL, I thought it was a ladder. But I see the shelves now. I like to show mine off. Check out my response for this week’s Booking Through Thursday.

  8. April 7, 2011 1:07 pm

    Shelves to hold all of my books are a “work in progress.” I’m always having to obtain more. Recently I bought a new one for my office. But I have shelves everywhere. In fact, I consider book shelves as part of my decorating scheme!

    Here’s MY BTT POST

  9. April 7, 2011 1:52 pm

    very nice shelf, it’s good to keep them organized.

    stop and see mine and my giveaway.

  10. April 7, 2011 2:19 pm

    I wouldn’t dream of hiding them away. Why should I?

  11. April 7, 2011 8:02 pm

    Love that book shelf! My books are mostly out and proud – the ones I have room for.

  12. April 7, 2011 8:25 pm

    I love those ladder type shelves. I need to buy another bookshelf. Ours are getting full.

  13. April 7, 2011 9:41 pm

    Any bookcase is pretty with books on them. I’ve always wanted a ladder bookcase like that.

  14. April 8, 2011 12:44 am

    I only showcase everything I read after college because of the limited space in my apartment. That said, I just bought fixtures from closing Borders to replace the old shelves.

Leave a Reply

