Skip to content

Teaser Tuesday: The Four Ms. Bradwells ~ Meg Waite Clayton

March 28, 2011

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!
  •  

    ‘The natural and proper timidity and delicacy which belongs to the female sex evidently unfits it for many of the occupations of civil life. [The] paramount destiny and mission of woman are to fulfill the noble and benign offices of wife and mother. This is the law of the creator’
                                                                                   – U. S. Supreme Court Justice Joseph P. Bradley, from his 1873 opinion in Bradwell v. Illinois, denying Mrs. Myra Bradwell the right to practice law.

                                                                        ~ p.1  The Four Ms. Bradwells by Meg Waite Clayton 

    Ah, yes, I know that this is not Tuesday but my tour spot for this book goes up, tomorrow, and I wanted to fit this in before that. Without blabbing on about it as I’ll do in good time, tomorrow, I was pleasantly surprised by the subject. For some reason, I thought it was going to be a silly little chick-lit piece but it’s turned out to be nothing of the sort. It’s pretty deep, searching and intelligent. Ah, but more on that, tomorrow!

    15 Comments leave one →
    1. March 28, 2011 1:49 pm

      This was on my ‘maybe, let’s see how reviews are’ list. You’re liking it?

    2. March 28, 2011 1:51 pm

      LOVING it. Really good. Totally different than what I thought it would be like. The women are amazing and real and funny and the story is easy to read but thick enough to keep my attention. Read it!

    3. March 29, 2011 3:08 am

      This looks like an interesting read. Here is my teaser from the humorous memoir, The Egg and I. Also, check out my book giveaway here.

    4. March 29, 2011 3:26 am

      Sounds like an interesting read. I hope you enjoyed it 🙂 You can see my teaser choices at The Bookish Snob Happy reading!

    5. March 29, 2011 4:06 am

      Sounds intriguing!

      Will keep an eye out for this one.

      Here’s mine if you have a minute – :0)

      http://scribble-scatter.blogspot.com/2011/03/teaser-tuesday-when-we-were-orphans.html

    6. March 29, 2011 4:14 am

      Intriguing. Although of course, I don’t like the view on women portrayed in this teaser. It does sound like an interesting historical read. Enjoy.

      Take a look at my Teaser!

    7. March 29, 2011 5:09 am

      This does sound interesting.

      Jules

    8. March 29, 2011 6:10 am

      Sounds like it could be an interesting read.

      My teaser

    9. March 29, 2011 6:41 am

      Sounds like a good read — the feminist in me is riled up.

    10. March 29, 2011 7:39 am

      I would have looked at that book but you have ne intriged now. Girl power!!!

      Here’s mine http://www.composingcat.com/2011/03/teaser-tuesday-march-29.html?m=1

    11. March 29, 2011 9:40 am

      I just finished reading this one last week…I enjoyed parts of it more than others, but I do like this author.

      Thanks for sharing….

      Here’s MY TT POST

    12. March 29, 2011 10:55 am

      Sounds like a really interesting read, thanks for sharing! Here’s my Teaser Tuesday. Happy Reading!

    13. March 29, 2011 1:02 pm

      I hope that you are enjoying your book. Check out my Teaser for Tuesday.

    14. March 29, 2011 1:14 pm

      sounds like an enjoyable read,stop and see mine.

    15. March 29, 2011 4:21 pm

      Well, well, well, nothing grabs attention like the profound statement as quoted in your teaser! Quite a grabber, there!

      🙂

    Leave a Reply

