Skip to content

BTT: Serial Thrillers

March 24, 2011

btt button

  • Series? Or Stand-alone books?


Don’t forget to leave a link to your actual response (so people don’t have to go searching for it) in the comments—or if you prefer, leave your answers in the comments themselves!

Oh, you sneaky Booking Through Thursday, you! You always know what I’m getting up to. I, heretofore, have not enjoyed a series since my childhood days of Narnia or, the more recent exception, Harry Potter. Yup, that’s about it. I simply prefer stand alone books. I have enjoyed Tana French’s books but they are quite separate, linking one or two incidents or characters but, for all intents and purposes, individual.

Ah, but then there is Maisie. Recently, I’ve fallen in love. I never thought it would happen but here I am, addicted to a straight forward, no nonsense lady detective series about war and peace in England circa the depression. Not exactly something I thought I’d read seven books about but I dare say I’m hooked.

Have I been turned on to other serial stories? Not really. I don’t think I’ll seek them out, past Dobbs, but I do think it’s been worth the adventure.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 24, 2011 11:28 am

    In the past, I have been a heavy reader of serials, but since I started blogging, it’s been all about the stand alone books. There are a few series out there that I want to continue with, but reviewing them is really hard! This is a good question, and made me think.

Leave a Reply

