Skip to content

BTT: Headlines

March 17, 2011

btt button

The news has been horrifying and addictive this week, with catastrophe piled on catastrophe, to a degree that–if I had read this in a book or seen it in a movie–I’d be protesting that it was just too unlikely, too farfetched.

But, topics for novels get ripped from the headlines all the time. Or real-life events remind you of fiction (whether “believable” or not) that you’ve read but never expected to see. Or real life comes up with an event so unbelievable that it stretches you sense of reality.

Hmm … I can’t quite come up with an outright question to ask, but thinking about the theory of fiction and how it can affect and be affected by real world events can act as a buffer between the horrific events on the news and having to actually face that horror. So … what happens when the line between fiction and reality becomes all-too slim? Discuss!


Don’t forget to leave a link to your actual response (so people don’t have to go searching for it) in the comments—or if you prefer, leave your answers in the comments themselves!

This is an interesting question. I’m not sure I’d read the book as I haven’t been paying much attention to the news. I have a small threshold for death and or violence in movies and I’ve found tat I have about the same tolerance in real life. That’s not to say that I can’t handle bad things when they happen individually, to me or my loved ones but I do have a tendency to tune out when the world stage gets too fiery. Yes, I know, this is weird since I actively seek out drama in my reading!

I think, for me, the place where fiction and reality have the biggest chances of overlapping are through political science fiction and dystopian novels based on governments gone wrong. I’m no conspiracy theorist; I’ve just always been a supporter of the “power corrupts, absolute power corrupts absolutely” camp and know that line is often blurred on the small stage and large.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2011 8:11 am

    Yes, I also find myself detaching from all things bad. It’s the way I cope. But I can’t deny that things happen.

    This is my answer @ Whatever You Can Still Betray.

  2. March 17, 2011 9:46 am

    I think we do often use fiction as a way of trying to come to grips with how to deal with things in the real world. It’s a mix of escape and a longing for justice

    Beyond the Lone Islands:
    http://dawntreader-island2.blogspot.com/2011/03/booking-through-thursday-headlines.html

  3. March 17, 2011 11:20 am

    This is an interesting topic, here is my answer:

    http://nightlyreading.wordpress.com/2011/03/17/booking-through-thursday-2/

  4. March 17, 2011 12:33 pm

    Not an easy question to answer but you did well.

    Here is my BTT: Headlines post!

  5. March 17, 2011 2:08 pm

    Good answer, stop and see mine.

  6. March 18, 2011 6:08 pm

    Fiction goes hand in hand with politics, usually exposing the ugly side of politicians, making sarcasm of absurd political parties.

Leave a Reply

