Skip to content

BTT: The Monster at the End of the Book

March 3, 2011

btt button

Do you cheat and peek at the ends of books? (Come on, be honest.)

Don’t forget to leave a link to your actual response (so people don’t have to go searching for it) in the comments—or if you prefer, leave your answers in the comments themselves!

Oh gosh, who does that? No, really, I’ve always been pretty good about controlling my inner three-year old nd waiting until events happen. I sometimes, in the middle of an intense thriller, have the urge to peek but I could very well just pick up every book in the store and look at the end and consider myself done. I’m all about the journey which, I suppose, is much the point of books, you know?

Ah, but, I suppose, it might have a little bit to do with my intense childhood fear of Grover’s scary tale The Monster at the End of the Book

https://i0.wp.com/1.bp.blogspot.com/_JE3_naQJZ0M/TOOuQvy4diI/AAAAAAAAAEw/DjrOcW85ZSM/s1600/monster1.jpg


13 Comments leave one →
  1. March 3, 2011 9:20 am

    Ok. I will confess I have never read a book completely with out reading the back page. Lord knows I have tried. I am not sure why that is. I try to figure out the ending – then check to see if I was right. The weird thing is that it doesn’t ruin the book for me. I’m sure I am not the only one out there harboring this deep, dark secret 🙂

  2. March 3, 2011 9:33 am

    I totally forgot about this book. I remember reading it to my boys! Here is my answer http://bookskidsanimalsandmore.blogspot.com/2011/03/booking-through-thursday.html

  3. March 3, 2011 10:00 am

    Well, I’ve been guilty of doing it in the past – mostly because I just couldn’t resist the temptation… but I’ve been good lately 🙂

    Here’s my Cheating (Booking Through Thursday) post!

  4. March 3, 2011 10:59 am

    What a great picture and sentiment! That Grover sequence should be at the end of every book! :–)

  5. March 3, 2011 11:17 am

    I never read the end of a book first. I think it would spoil the surprise endings. I love the cute little book, you featured today.

  6. March 3, 2011 11:44 am

    Love your illustration…
    Sometimes you’re allowed to peek.
    http://dawntreader-island2.blogspot.com/2011/03/allowed-to-peek.html

  7. March 3, 2011 11:59 am

    I laughed so hard at the book … so cute. I think the journey in a book is so important and why would someone choose to ruin that by peeking? Excellent point you made.

  8. March 3, 2011 12:34 pm

    Love that illustration! Sometimes I do fear “peeking,” because I might find out something that ruins everything….

    Here’s MY BOOKING THROUGH THURSDAY POST

  9. March 3, 2011 1:22 pm

    I have never done this, and like to keep the suspense up all the way to the last page. I don’t even really like to know too much about a book before I read it, because that way, I am totally surprised by everything inside. I know quite a few people who read the last pages before they actually get there, but for me, I think it would make me want to give up the book because it was spoiled for me.

  10. March 3, 2011 2:25 pm

    sometimes I look ahead, but don’t consider it cheating.

  11. March 3, 2011 3:35 pm

    OK everyone is making me feel even more ashamed of myself than I already am. I want some of your will power.
    Sally.
    http://theelifylop.blogspot.com/2011/03/booking-through-thursday-8.html

  12. March 3, 2011 9:58 pm

    I LOVE this book!!!

  13. March 3, 2011 11:42 pm

    Having thought about this, there has been a time when I have been fed up with a “slow” book and skimmed through to the end. Not sure that counts.
    Ann

Leave a Reply

