Skip to content

TSS: There’s Peace and Quiet, Beauty and Repose…

February 27, 2011

The Sunday Salon.com

What a week it’s been! My but work just eats up the days, so it does. Good thing I enjoy what I do. Of course, it’s hard not to when you’re working with preschoolers, teachers and parents. The highlight of the week, though, was a Mommy and Daddy solo trip to the beautiful Calloway Gardens, Friday night. Sometimes it’s nice to just toss the spreadsheets and city streets, grab your book and bike and sweetheart and head for the woods. Ok, that’s about the biggest cliche, but it’s a cliche for a reason.

In blogging news, I had another three book week. While Gilead sort of bombed and Crescendo was silly fun, I fell in love, big time, with Wrecker. Oh, really, it’s such a sweet, fun book that really resonated with me for reasons I can’t totally pinpoint. I think it might be my inner hippie or my outward three year old.

Next up, I have the second Maisie Dobbs, which I’m already well in to and enjoying, The Bird House which looks splendid, A Discovery of Witches which I’ve heard nothing but amazing things about and The Tea Rose which I’m devouring quickly, despite its size. Altogether, it looks much more promising than the previous week.

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 27, 2011 11:07 am

    I had a tough time with Gilead, too. It was a DNF for me.

    • February 28, 2011 3:05 pm

      I felt like I should muscle through because my mom’s a minister and I have so many people who really loved the thing. Otherwise it would have been a serious DNF.

  2. February 27, 2011 11:56 am

    Oh, now I am adding Wrecker to my wish list…you had me at “inner hippie”…LOL

    I haven’t read Crescendo and probably won’t…glad it was “silly fun” for you.

    Here’s MY SUNDAY SALON POST

    • February 28, 2011 3:05 pm

      I hope you like it! I had no idea what to think when it arrived but I really enjoyed it.

  3. February 28, 2011 12:24 am

    You have some great books lined up for yourself, and I hope that you enjoy all of them!

Leave a Reply

