Skip to content

Teaser Tuesday: Gilead ~ Marilynne Robinson

February 22, 2011

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

Much more prayer is called for, clearly, but first I will take a nap.

p.125 Gilead Marilynne Robinson

13 Comments leave one →
  1. February 21, 2011 10:45 pm

    Hope you love Gilead as much as I do. What a beautiful book. And that quote is just one of the reasons why I love it, showing a droll sense of humor amid the other important information John Ames wants to bestow upon his son.

  2. February 22, 2011 12:51 am

    I have had Gilead on my wish list for so long! I think it needs to be moved closer to the top now! Thanks!

    Here’s my teaser: http://novelbanter.blogspot.com/2011/02/teaser-tuesday_21.html

  3. February 22, 2011 2:15 am

    You can’t have too much prayer! 🙂

    Here’s my Teaser! ~ Wendi

  4. February 22, 2011 6:32 am

    Hehehee, funny! Nap > Prayer.

    Here’s my teaser for this week.

  5. February 22, 2011 9:10 am

    That made me laugh. I’ve been meaning to read this.

  6. February 22, 2011 9:19 am

    Keeping those priorities straight…LOL

    Thanks for sharing…this is an awesome book and author.

    Here’s MY TEASER TUESDAYS POST

    • February 22, 2011 4:56 pm

      Haha, I know, right? It’s a very sweet book and ponders faith a good deal, both reverently and then not so much. ;O)

  7. February 22, 2011 10:38 am

    Fab teaser! I’ve got two this week. You can find them here

  8. February 22, 2011 12:08 pm

    Your teaser makes me wish to look out for this novel!

    Here is my Teaser Tuesday: Silent Partner by Jennifer Chase post!

    • February 22, 2011 4:55 pm

      It’s a good one for reflecting, for sure. I’m not sure if I am reading it at the right time for ME but it’s an interesting one that I’ll reread again, I’m sure.

  9. February 22, 2011 12:53 pm

    I jsut finished Housekeeping by this author and have to say that I was rather disappointed. It was her first book, so I made an allowance for that, but still, I just didn’t like it.

    • February 22, 2011 4:53 pm

      Oh, no! I have Home to read when I’m done, although, Gilead’s been a little slow. It’s “nice” and there are parts that I’m really enjoying but there are SO many slow times, too. :O/

  10. February 23, 2011 10:30 pm

    What an awesome teaser! This seems like a character I can relate to!

Leave a Reply

