Skip to content

TSS: Week in Review

February 20, 2011

The Sunday Salon.com

Ah, another day, another dollar. Weeks keep flying by with little more than another calendar page flipped for the effort. Spring is almost here; our school is coming up on its year and a half anniversary; and I can not believe our “baby” turns THREE, next month, but so he does.

As fast as the days are spinning by, I am, at least managing to get a little bit of reading done in the chaos. The books on my list, this week were:

A wide range, I know, but not atypical for a week well read. Up next is almost a mirror image, equally yummy and equally eclectic. Check it out:

 

I’m almost done with Crescendo, about halfway through Gilead and and a sizable chunk through Birds of a Feather. I would really like to find myself caught up, a few days ahead of posting reviews so I don’t feel so rushed to read and write. Hopefully, I’ll pull ahead this week and edge out a bit of breathing room. Just too many good books and not enough good reading time!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. February 20, 2011 2:44 pm

    Great list! I have the first Maisie Dobbs in audio, and am looking forward to immersing myself in a new-to-me series. I know what you mean about the weeks and months going by so fast … I must admit, I’m looking forward to spring here. I’m getting a little tired of the snow!

    • February 20, 2011 5:44 pm

      I think you’ll like it! I just started the second book and I’m glad to be back with the crew.

  2. February 20, 2011 3:19 pm

    I’ve enjoyed a couple of books by Marilynne Robinson…hope you’re enjoying Gilead.

    I’ve been seeing the Maisie Dobbs name bandied about, so I’m definitely going to have to explore this one….

    Here’s MY SUNDAY SALON

    • February 20, 2011 5:43 pm

      I AM liking Gilead. It’s much slower and sweeter than my other recent books so it’s a nice change of pace. I’ve got HOME, too, when I finish.

  3. February 20, 2011 4:14 pm

    I am so happy to see lots of people discovering Maisie Dobbs all of a sudden. I love that series. 🙂

    • February 20, 2011 5:43 pm

      My mom’s been a big fan for a while but I am just now taking her word for it. Shouldn’t have waited this long!

  4. February 20, 2011 4:55 pm

    Tinkers is my current book, and one that I wrote about today in my Salon post too!

    • February 20, 2011 5:42 pm

      Oh, I’ll go check it out! I’m reading Gilead at the same time and they’re not lightening fast reads but their two readings have given me a lot to reflect on!

  5. February 20, 2011 8:37 pm

    Spring was in the air here, but it’s cooler today. I don’t like it – I’ve been freezing all day!

  6. February 20, 2011 10:39 pm

    I agree that time is flying by so fast. It’s almost as if I can’t keep up. I’m looking forward to reading your thoughts on Revolution and Tinkers. Have a great week.

  7. February 20, 2011 11:20 pm

    The months seem to be flying by with little effort, and soon it will be warm again! I hope you have a great week ahead in reading!

Leave a Reply

