Skip to content

Inside of a Dog

February 13, 2011

The Sunday Salon.com
My recent venture into the world of werewolf books has coincided with our family adventures in dog fostering. I’m always impressed with writers who get the “dog facts” right even if I can’t fantasy-fact check their werewolf mythology.

I think that one of the things I’ve found so amazing about dogs, now and while I was growing up, was their essentially seamless weave into our human existence. The way we impose ourselves onto their personalities and they way they wedge themselves int our hearts. It’s all just so warm and fuzzy. It also makes them really inspirational and easy catalysts in writing and reading which, I suppose leads to a bit of the magic behind werewolf lore.

Ok, enough of the heavy stuff. The real reason for this post is pretty silly. I’ve decided that my dogs each have their own personalities based on books I’ve read, recently and I thought I’d share the list. Enjoy the pack!

Name: Teddy
Age: 7 years old
Rank: Alpha Male
Status: Forever
Occupation: Hunter, herder, house alarm, pack protector, conspiracy theorist
Disposition: high-strung, tightly wound, insanely loyal, generally nuts
Literary Leanings: The March Hare, John Forbes Nash, Jr., Winston Smith


Name: Lola
Age: 2 years old
Rank: Beta Female
Status: Foster
Occupation: Den mother, ring leader, trouble maker
Disposition: feisty, possessive, loyal, tenacious
Literary Leanings: Hermione, Mrs. Weasley, Isabel Culpeper


Name: Donnie
Age: 4.5 years old
Rank: Omega Male
Status: Forever
Occupation: Court Jester, novice surfer, open-mic night regular
Disposition: Happy-go-lucky, food hound, clumsy, handsome young thing
Literary Leanings: Dorian Gray, Amory Blaine, Ernest Hemingway as himself


Name: Skylar
Age: 6 months old
Rank: Baby Omega Female
Status: Foster
Occupation: Junior Detective, P.I. in training
Disposition: spunky, inquisitive, tireless, snuggly
Literary Leanings: Nancy Drew, Maisie Dobbs, Cassie Maddox

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 14, 2011 2:39 am

    I love Lola! What is she?

    • February 14, 2011 8:51 am

      Haha we have NO idea. We think she’s mostly shepherd, with some small hound. She’s short and stocky but she has all of these shepherd features. And she has these incredible Yoda ears.

      • February 14, 2011 10:21 am

        I guess I can see the shepherd and hound parts. And both of those dogs are so lovable! And yes, the ears are great!

  2. February 14, 2011 3:01 pm

    Oh, your dogs are so beautiful and i love that you listed so much about their personalities and such! Thanks for sharing all the info and photos!

  3. February 14, 2011 8:48 pm

    LOL – this is very clever – I love it!!! If I had to do one of these for my dog, she’d definitely be Alpha female with occupations of herder, troublemaker, stand up comic, actress (aka drama queen), and security guard…her literary leanings are Scarlett O’Hara and Owen Meany! Thanks for the laugh.

Leave a Reply

