Skip to content

BTT: Fame Game.

February 10, 2011

btt button

In honor of our giveaway yesterday (don’t forget to enter for your chance to win!) …

There’s something wonderful about getting in on the ground floor of an author’s career–about being one of the first people to read and admire them, before they became famous best-sellers.

Which authors have you been lucky enough to discover at the very beginning of their careers?

And, if you’ve never had that chance, which author do you WISH you’d been able to discover at the very beginning?


Don’t forget to leave a link to your actual response (so people don’t have to go searching for it) in the comments—or if you prefer, leave your answers in the comments themselves!

The reason Kellen and I decided to relocate to the east coast after a minute in L.A. is due to my total aversion to fame. We are subtle, New England folk who like to know the people about town or to watch a local boy or gal make big. Ok, I am a sucker for Affleck, Wahlberg and Damon but they like their Red Sox, blue jeans and mothers so I can’t complain.

I, myself, have never been a name dropper so I can’t say that I wish I had known my favorite authors “when”. I will say, though, that I am very proud of local (to us, in Atlanta) shop owner, Terra Elan McVoy, of Pure fame, who is a friendly counter face at Decatur’s Little Shop of Stories.

That said, I love new, amazing writers and I’ll say that the only writer I’ve really sen from day one is also a local lady by the name of Susan Gregg Gilmore. I adore her and I’ve known her from pretty early on. She was actually the person who told me to go ahead with my blog. So honestly it’s more like she’s seen ME from the beginning…

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2011 1:18 pm

    Interesting! You moved because of your aversion to fame? Now I want to know more about you! I am a beginning writer and know that while I want my work to be on the bestseller lists, I would want my privacy too. Hard to get both, I imagine. Perhaps someday the list will be a dream come true. My answer to this week’s topic is here: http://shirley-mybookshelf.blogspot.com/2011/02/book-tour-sudden-moves-by-kelli-sue.html

    • February 12, 2011 9:39 am

      Hee Hee. We get enough fame in Atlanta where it’s fun but not the obsessive, all encompassing lifestyle that they put out in L. A.!

  2. February 10, 2011 10:01 pm

    I like that you turned this on its head — she’s seen YOU from the beginning!

    • February 12, 2011 9:41 am

      I hope it came off more like an introspective reader than a narcissist…:0)

Leave a Reply

