Skip to content

TSS: Super Stroll Sunday

February 6, 2011

The Sunday Salon.com

I had planned on writing up a week in review post but I think I might do a Top Ten Things On My Mind post, instead. Here goes:

1. The Patriots
Well, not really the Patriots so much as the culture and commotion behind New England football. We were ready and set to go all the way, once again, this year and then lost to yet another luke warm New York team. I very nearly went into early labor with Kai in ’08 when the Pats lost to the Giants after a completely flawless season. We are, now, beginning, I fear, to acquire a bit of that old Red Sox magic wherein we go to the point in the hike where we can see the top for the trees but we decide to turn around and go home because, hey, why finish big or finish at all? Today, while I curse Tom and Wes for not getting us on the big screen for the big game, I shall remember fondly and ruefully, our glories past.

2. The Falcons
Easily the under dog (sorry, Mikey), this year, they had the drive and the dream but clearly not the “do” that it takes to make it to the bowl. It’s a sad day in our house, for sure. The deal is even less sweet since Boston and Atlanta are swapping blood, these days over a mutual crush on Matty Ice.

3. The “Super” Bowl
I have found, on twitter, that my fellow book bloggers are finding more joy in the Puppy Bowl. Honestly, with no blood or marriage to tie me to a team, I might enjoy my dog days of non-competitive leisure instead of the wet nap of a game about to go down this evening.

4. Delirium

Please to click on the oh so beautiful cover for my review of a pretty stellar book.

5. Linger

Not into love triangles? Well, as in Delirium, you won’t find any geometric romances here.

5. Women on the Verge of a Nervous Breakdown
This is my very first contribution to TLC’s fiction tours. I did a review for a nonfiction book way back but I’m still a bit nervous about so many people seeing my review. I’m loving the book, though, so it should make it pretty easy.

6. Music
I’m working on a post, right now, probably headed toward next Sunday, about the various songs and soundtracks that I find in my head as I read certain books. I’ve been leaning, hard, toward Ray LaMontagne, The Drop Kick Murphy’s, Flogging Molly and Mumford and Sons for my reading, so far, this year. If you have any thoughts on this, let me know.

7. Bookshelves
My husband is a genius. These are hand crafted by the love of my life. The only downside? Teddy (seven year old nut job that resembles a dog) rolled in the stain at some point…

8. The Red Sox
The only thing positive about the end of football season is that Spring Training is not far away…

9. NetGalley.com
So I ordered Delirium on NetGalley but I got about halfway through and purchased the book. I’m having the same problem with Nook. I love the idea of it and it’s very green, at least in a paper way (not sure about power). I just can’t stare at a screen for that long. If anyone else has run up against this and has found a solution, let me know. Oh, I also can’t read Netgalley books in my bed. Big not-plus.

10. Babies
What? You wanted more on this? They’re just on my mind. Our minds. We went to New Baby Products, yesterday which is a super cool store on Cheshire Bridge. I’ve passed it a million times but I’ve never made it inside. They have tons and tons of awesome gear and some big kid stuff in the middle so Baby One was happy.

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 6, 2011 2:12 pm

    I read my longest e-book yesterday (460 print pages) and got a stiff neck….not sure if it’s the Kindle, or the fact that I was glued to the screen all day because I was really into the book.

    Here is some stuff from this week…blogging and reading, at my SUNDAY SALON

  2. February 6, 2011 11:47 pm

    I do read on my Kindle, but not nearly as much as I read paper books. I can’t say what it is, but for some reason, I just prefer the physical book in my hands. That doesn’t stop me from buying tremendous amounts of e-books though!

    • February 7, 2011 4:53 pm

      I have mega ADD so I need to flip pages and hold something secure and tangible.

  3. February 12, 2011 6:27 pm

    With my Nook Color, I usually have to dim down the brightness — the standard setting is too bright.

Leave a Reply

