Skip to content

Linger ~ Maggie Stiefvater

February 4, 2011


Genre: Paranormal Teen Romance/Poetry
Publisher: Scholastic Press
368 pages
ISBN: 9780545123280
Source: Book store

I have always had such a hard time reviewing books in series because I find I have absolutely no inner gage for what I didn’t know before I read the previous book or books. I know that sounds silly because it should be the same thing as reviewing a standalone book: just don’t give away the good parts. However, I sort of have an assumption that a reader has read the previous volumes in looking for a review of the currently reviewed. I’ll try my best, here, but just do me a solid and don’t go searching for answers to Linger before you’ve read Shiver. Deal? Ok, then, we can journey onward.

Picking up where Shiver left off, Linger finds our heroes, Sam and Grace, as they continue their struggle against the world that haunts them both, working science, rather than magic, into a new mythology of werewolves and their human counterparts.

They work and search alongside Isabel and a new “pack member”. This rather angsty new pack member, Cole, may or may not have mysteriously strong roots in the rock and roll “scene”, making his appearance in Mercy Falls somewhat of a liability for all parties. Though the group is comprised of such oddball and contrasting personalities, they roll and tumble along, smoothing out around the edges as they begin to find themselves in each other.

There is something so unique about the Wolves of Mercy Falls. I suppose it’s really just something unique about Maggie Stiefvater, herself, but that’s the point: there is no distinction between her story and her story telling. This is not Twilight and it’s hardly Harry Potter or anything else so sensationalist. Though there are undercurrents of urgency and extreme emotion, there is a quiet calm to her writing and story movement there I have not found anywhere else in Young Adult writing, at least, if not the world of novels, as a whole.

I am so impressed with intelligence and true thoughtfulness of the individuals sketched out in the first two books. Obviously, I’m sure that this will continue through to the third, which I am way too excited to read. Why can’t it be summer, yet?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 4, 2011 12:13 pm

    This is a series that I really need to read soon. My daughter also wants to read them because she has a fascination with all things wolf, and now that I hear that they are so well written, I am going to have to dig them out really soon! Thanks for the great review! I am glad you liked this one!

    • February 4, 2011 12:48 pm

      I’ve been sort of funny about YA because some of it is really worth reading, no matter your age and some of it is just terrible. Although, I suppose the same can be said for most books. :O)

  2. February 4, 2011 1:01 pm

    Interesting review. I too find them different from the usual werewolf fare.

  3. Brooke permalink
    December 20, 2012 11:38 pm

    What is the climax?

Leave a Reply

