Skip to content

Faithful Place ~ Tana French

January 17, 2011


Genre: Adult Fiction/Suspense
Publisher: Viking Adult
416 pages
ISBN: 9780670021871
Source: Nook

Nobody understands that you can’t go home again like Detective Frank Mackey. Of course, he’d also spit back at you, “Why in bleedin’ell would yeh want teh?” faster than the thought could cross your sorry mind.

After high-tailing it out of dodge (a.k.a. the happily grimy, crimey Faithful Place) with his love and life, Rosie, near a quarter decade ago, Frank has been peacefully losing himself in other folks’ miseries with the help of his Undercover squad, in Dublin. No big worry that Rosie never did meet up with him the night he left. They were young. They both left town and, together or apart, they both made a worthy departure from a life dripping in backwater.

He remains blissfully out of touch with his old life, aside from a stray sister, here and there, for a fabulously long time until fate comes calling at exactly the wrong time.

His less estranged little sibling, Jackie, rings him, one night to tell him that he needs to return to their old stomping grounds.

Immediately.

Some neighborhood kids have found a little something that might interest Frank enough to wrench him back through the perils of family life.

It turns out that Rosie’s suitcase never actually made it out of Faithful Place.

Of course, this begs the question: Did Rosie?

Look, I know you’re all terribly sick of my drawn out, one-sided love affair with Tana French but, honestly, I feel like I deserve a little bit of credit, here. I don’t think I’m out of line in saying that she’s just that good.

My favorite thing about all three of her books is the way the stories, past, present, right or left, are not so much about the linear plot as they are about fleshing out each subject’s thought process. In Faithful Place, as in her previous two novels, there is little emphasis on the actual whodunit as there is a natural solve rate embedded in the unfolding of events within hearts and minds involved in the story.

I can’t say that Faithful Place is, hands down, “the best” because I think that all three books stand alone. Yes, you can read them individually, at any order you please (although to get the most of Rob and Cassie, you really should read In the Woods then The Likeness), but I’m warning you: after reading any of the above, but, I’d venture to say, especially Faithful Place, you may fall desperately out of love with any book, especially crime related, not put forth by the lovely Mrs. French.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 18, 2011 2:10 am

    You hit upon a good point about the thought processes. As the books go on, the characters reveal themselves. I do wonder who her next book will be about.

  2. January 18, 2011 12:45 pm

    I had to skim this review a little bit because I was afraid of spoilers. I just wanted to say that you are making me really excited about reading these books and I can’t wait to get started with them! It sounds like French knocks it out of the park with each of these!

  3. January 20, 2011 11:54 am

    I love Tana French, too, so don’t even think apologizing about your love for her! She really is THAT good. Her books are always so engrossing and I’m always sad when they’re done.

  4. January 20, 2011 7:57 pm

    I have all of these and want to get to them so bad. Maybe I’ll read Faithful Place first if you don’t have to read them in order. Most seem to like it best.

Leave a Reply

