Skip to content

So I jumped into Sunday…

January 16, 2011

The Sunday Salon.com
I’m happy to report that I have officially shoveled myself out of my grumpy little reading slump. Thanks to global climate destabilization and Atlanta’s firm denouncement of all effective snow and/or ice removal from major through ways, my weekend-cum-five-day-exploration-of-cabin-fever had more bouncing off of the walls to do than it did anything remotely resembling productivity.

That’s what we’ll blame it on, then, sure, the weather.

I will, however, point out, that this slump was suffered directly finishing The Likeness. What’s the point, then? This: I also fell victim to no less than six whole months of blog hiatus following my finish of In the Woods.

Tana French, I had better not see the likes of you or your black hole of superb story telling around here for quite some time!

I have about 75 more pages left to go in Faithful Place (honest to goodness, French’s best yet) and I am trying very hard to finish it without claiming that there couldn’t possibly be a book out there worth reading that was not the book I just slammed shut.

Wish me luck?

On tap, I have the rest of Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter, which I’m enjoying, although not as much as my lovely Irish fantasy thrills.  I’ve found the fabulously Teen-y, Orwellian Delirium via my new discovery, NetGalley (wahoo!). I also have Distant Hours on my Nook and those lovely Maisie Dobbs books. I think, Tana French, I shall escape your seductive charm, after all.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 16, 2011 7:38 pm

    Oh ack, so I guess you’re saying I should read Faithful Place!

  2. January 16, 2011 11:04 pm

    I can’t remember what I followed The Likeness with. It seems unlikely that I would have enjoyed it as much. I think technically Faithful Place is her best book, but I just wasn’t that interested in Frank.

  3. January 16, 2011 11:26 pm

    Oh, those Tana French books are everyone’s favorites it seems! I have the first one, and don’t know what I am waiting for, to tell you the truth. I am glad to hear your slump is working itself through and I look forward to reading your thoughts on Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter.

  4. January 17, 2011 9:37 pm

    Wasn’t that weather just awful. I was kind of bouncing off the walls here too. I’ve got In the Woods and you’ve made me feel like I should read it right now.

Leave a Reply

