Skip to content

Reader’s Block

January 14, 2011

One might think that with a three day snow break backed up to a weekend, I would have been plugging right along through books and reviews. Of course, one might also remember that a two and a half year old has no use for book blogging and said two and a half year old also has an agenda of his own.

We did a fair amount of reading but mostly, we concentrated on forts and magic wands and Playmobil stages and things.

I feel a bit like I’m suffering from book ADHD, right now, bouncing back and forth between Faithful Place, Crooked Letter Crooked Letter, Gilead and Tinkers. They’re all good but I can’t seem to settle, reading a few pages in one before running back to the others.

Hopefully after a day or two back at work and then a new start on the weekend, I’ll be able to buckle down, make some decisions and find some semblance of productivity again.

Wish me luck!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 14, 2011 2:07 pm

    I am going through this right now as well. The book I am reading is pretty good, but I am finding that real life problems are distracting me, and I can’t lose myself in anything at all. It’s frustrating because I always have turned to books for almost every conceivable solace I can think of, and the fact that they are not doing it for me at this time is very disconcerting. I am hoping that things calm down here soon, and I am able to get more read as the weekend progresses. It’s a frustrating situation to be in, and I know just how you feel. I hope it clears up for both of us very soon!

  2. January 14, 2011 5:01 pm

    I hope I get my mojo back soon as well. I am feeling a reading block.

  3. January 14, 2011 5:56 pm

    Gilead and Tinkers both seem like the kind of books that need to be read when in a very serene state of mind (I can vouch for Gilead on that point). It’s the kind of book that is so quiet that your mind can’t be filled with clutter and raging impulses. I totally understand that desire to read everything in sight, however! It happens to me far too often…

  4. January 14, 2011 8:33 pm

    I am sick of snow. We got 11″ at my house in NC. I know how you feel about hoping to get some things read, but after being cooped up I’m not in the mood.

Leave a Reply

