Skip to content

Oh, Christmas Shelves! Oh, Christmas Shelves!

December 28, 2010

Not for quite some time, have I actually been able to go on a book spending spree.

Sure, my library card has afforded me the pseudo freedom of reckless abandon that I feel with a loaded bookstore gift card but it’s just not the same thing.

I’ve never been one to buy books just to stock my shelves (in seventh grade, I proudly announced to all who would listen that I was in the process of divesting myself of all material possessions) but when I have the odd chance, like a major gift giving holiday, during which I usually acquire bookstore browsing rights, I do rejoice in boosting my consumer-driven marketplace.

Yesterday, the boys when bed shopping (another story, altogether, in which I loudly denounce my will to shop for anything that is not readable) and I found myself with nothing but books, books, books.

Oh it was wonderful, indeed!

I managed to stay under $40, yet still run off with a sizable stack of books. (Again, I might mention, only in a bookstore will I, by choice, spend time looking over sale items.)

I would like to welcome to my home the following titles:



So, right, then; let’s see. There are three, count them, three whole YA books. Oh, the, yes, those things I haven’t exactly made very good use of, this past reading year. I think I might just like the covers. I was, though, mildly taken with Shiver, recently, so maybe that’s why I picked these three up. The other three are also fairly atypical for my usual reading fare but I’ve been hearing and reading wonderful things about all of the titles so I thought I should check them out.

That’s about the long and short of my holiday purchases. Now to get down to reading…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 29, 2010 11:13 am

    I have most of these as well, but have only read Home, and what a read it was!! I was just looking over my review of it yesterday, and remembering what an awesome book it was. I hope that you really enjoy it. It was probably one of my best reads of last year. Revolution is supposed to be pretty good as well, as is The Likeness. Great choices this year!

  2. December 29, 2010 11:44 am

    Great raid for under $40! I just loved Crooked Letter Crooked Letter – definitely for me one of the best reads of the year!

  3. jpetroroy permalink
    December 29, 2010 5:28 pm

    Nightshade is on hold for me at the library and Revolution is on my shelf at home, waiting to be read. Good taste šŸ™‚

  4. December 29, 2010 5:49 pm

    What great pile for a bargain price. Interesting variety. Two books stand out because my opinion is completely at loggerhead to most bloggers. I enjoyed the meditative mood of Home while I deem the psychology in The Likeness flawed.

Leave a Reply

