Skip to content

Sunday, Muddy Sunday…

December 26, 2010

The Sunday Salon.com
Hello from melting snowville! Yes, that’s right folks; we, in the fine city of Atlanta, had ourselves our very own (and possibly very first) white Christmas, yesterday!

On to other things, though.

I am sure, by now, everyone has seen this.

While it’s appalling to think that it is some great and grotesque commentary on today’s youth, I know that, mannered as he may be, bookish as he is, my own little guy could be pushed to equal displays if given piles and piles of toys on Christmas morning. We take it slowly, a few things here, a few things there, drifting between family houses and such, napping in between.

I could easily see a meltdown occurring if everything was simply pushed all at once or just for too long. Heck, Kai was so tired, yesterday, that he wouldn’t try a chocolate chip cookie. I know. Horrendous.

Obviously, I’m as perplexed as the next viewer as to why someone would put his or her child on the internet denouncing books or any present, no matter how cranky. That would be about the time when we might switch off the video camera.

Ah, but, we all have different parenting styles, I suppose and I’m certainly not one to worry about the way other people (nonviolently) keep their children.

I did, though, want to share a few pictures of our little reader who was more than excited about his lit loot this holiday season.

As you can see, we were quite displeased with our books.

The kid lucked out in the reading category more than mom or dad and he even snagged a few e-reader items from Leap Frog.

Hey, but, is this better than Wii? At not even three? Perhaps. Some might say that he should be getting more toys than books.

I guess the question that remains to be answered, follows as such: is it better to be cavalierly mocking of reading or outrageously snobby about books when your kid is only two and a half.

I don’t really know but we’ve clearly picked our path…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Cathy F permalink
    December 27, 2010 12:41 pm

    Those horrible parents did post a video from this christmas where their now four year old was very happy to get books! See, all is not lost!

  2. December 27, 2010 1:49 pm

    I couldn’t believe that video either! That would have made me hopping mad, and I am glad to say that my kids are genuinely excited when they discover books under the Christmas tree! So sad to see that little boy acting up over books.

  3. December 27, 2010 5:52 pm

    I love your pics! As for the video, I wonder if that video is even real, rather than staged…

Leave a Reply

