Skip to content

Sunday Salon: What a Week!

December 12, 2010

The Sunday Salon.com

 


I haven’t done a “week in review” post in quite sometime. My week was seriously eclectic and a good one for a wrap up. Here we go. I finished Possession, finally. It was a chunker, for sure, although, I think it could have been longer, deeper and more developed. My Booker experience, thus far has been more philosophically compact. That is, shorter stories that cover more ground. Possession, for lack of better terminology, was, well, airy and a little bit surface, at times. Not a bad reading experience, though. I think that I tend to have a weird, aesthetic aversion to italics, leaving me feeling a little bit burnt out when it comes to books with extensive portions written in “letter” form. Weird, I know, but still true. They make me dizzy.

Oddly, Laura Lipton’s Mating Rituals of the North American WASP was a little bit deeper than I imagined. Not in an existentialist way but it did much more soul-searching than outwardly advertised. I enjoyed the pokes at north-eastern life, even if I think Connecticut is considered positively below the Mason Dixon line for any self-respecting “Yankee”.

Of course, master of the printed page, herself, Virginia Woolf, made my all time best list, this week, with her super short A Room of One’s Own. It’s more of a one hundred page essay than a book but it was heavier than anything I’ve read in a long time. It’s definitely one to pass along, even to those who don’t consider themselves staunch feminists.

Looking ahead, I have a pretty sweet line up from the library, the mailbox and the…erm…bookstore.
(Only one. I was good…)


This is my proposed reading order but, of course, my plan doesn’t always pan out. Does anyone have a preference for a new order? Let me know if you have a favorite. I’m about a third of the way through Paper Monsters and loving it, right now.

That’s “all”, for the moment. We’ll see how much I get accomplished this week. Although, there’s, apparently a “storm” (read: flurries) headed for Atlanta, tonight, so I may be afforded more reading time due to the city shutting down in hysterics…

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Cathy F permalink
    December 12, 2010 9:42 pm

    Karl loved the whole Eyre Affair series (and I do to). Let me know how you like American Pastoral. I’ve been on a Philip Roth kick myself this year, but have not read this one yet.

  2. December 13, 2010 12:57 am

    Wow, I t hink you’re the only person I’ve ever heard who has had that reaction to Possession. Most people seem to find it too deep and thick and difficult to even get through!

    • December 13, 2010 8:22 am

      Haha, I’m really weird. I think I’m used to a bit more absurdist allegory and wanted a little bit more allusion or depth in places. It’s not that I didn’t like it; it’s just that there were paths that I thought could have been explored more. It packed so much in that I feel as though there was just not enough time devoted in some areas.

  3. December 13, 2010 8:58 am

    I agree with you on WASP – I loved that she added the protests against the big box stores to the story. It looks like you’re in for some good reading.

    • December 13, 2010 12:16 pm

      I liked that because it showed an interesting divide in the town. It was little things like that and the tid bits about big business v. small in the city AND the country that made this a better book than I’d planed to read. Glad you liked it, too!

  4. December 13, 2010 9:04 am

    You have lots of great looking books lined up for the future….enjoy

  5. December 13, 2010 11:14 am

    If you read Shiver, you’re going to want to read Linger right after, so I would wait on that one till you get Linger from the library (or wherever!)

    • December 13, 2010 12:19 pm

      Haha this sounds like a passage from If You Give A Mouse A Cookie. I’m excited about picking them both up. Linger is supposed to be coming in from the library.

  6. December 13, 2010 10:13 pm

    You do have such an eclectic reading list. I so want to read the Wasp book. As far as your new picks, I quite liked Bel Canto — though I never cared for Patchett’s other books.

  7. December 14, 2010 1:47 pm

    I haven’t read any of the books on your list except Shiver which I really enjoyed. Good luck getting through your stack!

  8. December 19, 2010 9:45 am

    When I have library books and books of my own, I always read the library books first. Have to. Usually can’t renew them.

Leave a Reply

