Skip to content

Teaser Tuesday: The Cookbook Collector by Allegra Goodman and Possession ~ A. S. Byatt

November 30, 2010

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!


These are business-slash-cults started by refugees from the East Coast who come out here to graft their radical-chic plan onto some unsuspecting western species like the spotted owl, or the coastal redwood, or the Berkley grad student.

p.184 The Cookbook Collector by Allegra Goodman


Now if this were a true dialogue – but that is entirely as you may wish it to be.

p. 195 Possession by A. S. Byatt

17 Comments leave one →
  1. November 30, 2010 7:47 am

    Great teasers ^^ I especially like the second one.

    here’s my teaser: http://semicrazed.blogspot.com/2010/11/teaser-tuesday-8.html

    xoxo

  2. November 30, 2010 8:15 am

    Great teaser. I agree with BlackEyedDog love the second one.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog.

    I am a new RSS subscriber also

    Twitter: @LiteraryBrooks

  3. Marg permalink
    November 30, 2010 8:45 am

    Cookbook Collector is going to be either my next read, or the one after!

    My teaser comes from Revolution by Jennifer Donnelly

  4. November 30, 2010 10:03 am

    I really like the second one, I couldn’t get the first one tho

  5. November 30, 2010 10:04 am

    This just reminds me that I’m hungry !! You can find my teaser at The Bookish Snob

  6. November 30, 2010 11:05 am

    Sounds good to me!

    Teaser Tuesady: Remedies by Kate Ledger

  7. November 30, 2010 11:52 am

    Fabulous teasers, and I LOVE the cover on The Cookbook Collector….

    Thanks for visiting my blog.

  8. November 30, 2010 12:36 pm

    Possession is one of my favorite reads of all time, and I hope you are enjoying it!

  9. November 30, 2010 1:52 pm

    We get a lot of those Eastcoasters here in Montana, too. They’re always so sure of themselves and generally only half right.

  10. November 30, 2010 2:00 pm

    Two great teasers. I especially liked the second one!

  11. November 30, 2010 2:03 pm

    Great teaser! This is different from my usual fare, but they both sound very intriguing!

  12. November 30, 2010 3:37 pm

    What’re they doing to the trees?!

  13. November 30, 2010 3:42 pm

    Good teasers. I really like the cover of the Cookbook Collector. Thanks for visiting me. 🙂

  14. November 30, 2010 6:13 pm

    Thanks for visiting! I really like the Possession quote, wow. Never heard of this novel, but I will check it out:)

  15. November 30, 2010 8:37 pm

    Great teaser, both of them!
    Thanks for stopping by SunnyReads!

  16. December 1, 2010 12:48 am

    Great teasers! I’m not sure that I normally would have picked these two up, but they both sound really interesting.

  17. December 1, 2010 10:11 pm

    I’ve always heard good thing about Possession … I think I need to read it someday.

Leave a Reply

