Skip to content

Thankfully Reading Weekend: Mini-Challenge #3

November 28, 2010

The Sunday Salon.com

Jen from Devourer of Books asks

Reading is a solitary activity, but it is something that is even better when you have a reading community surrounding you, which is part of the reason that many of us started blogging in the first place.

So what I want to know, is what reading community are you thankful for, and why? Are you thankful for book bloggers? The book community on Twitter? Your spouse or family that lets you ramble on and on about what you’re reading and doesn’t complain (at least not too much) about the myriad of books flowing into the house?

I don’t like the internet. I, mean, ok, I do, but while Kellen and Kai are roaming IKEA, looking at computer desks and workstations, I am usually, curled up, no joke, in the most comfortable chair I can find, declaring it “the best reading chair, ever”. I find reading chairs, not tv couches or computer seats. I would much rather be in some warm, cozy corner of a bookstore than looking at a buzzing screen.

I’m a creature of small comforts. I rarely use my Nook. I don’t turn on the t.v. of my own free will (blame the boys) and my iPhone went through the wash six months ago and I’ve been relying on (shock! horror!) a little Nokia…flip phone.

However! The internet is not always such a scary place.

My friends live in it.

About a year and a half ago, I stumbled upon “book blogging”. What a neat idea to have a personal blabbing space! I originally began my blog to save my (very patient) friends and family (and strangers) from unsolicited book thoughts. I found, though, in the process of hammering out my own space, a reason far more compelling: community.

I love checking in, every day (or every chance) to see what others are reading. Even if the 200 people on my feed reader have reviewed the same book on that particular day, each blogger offers a bit of himself or herself in the retelling and I love this.

Of course, I have “real” friends I share my book community with. Although, I don’t know if this counts as something different but many of my mommynet friends have now taken up residence in my “people I blab to about books” category. That’s not much of a departure from the internet but I do promise that I have real friends who like books!

My mom asks for my book advice and has even read and enjoyed The Hunger Games! My daddy has lent me many of my nonfiction over the years, making up a good portion of my political science book collection, unrelated to four years of a related major. My director, several of the teachers  and I have taken to sharing books with one another. Many of these are educational theory books but they’re good fodder for professional chatting, nonetheless. My sister-in-law and I trade titles back and forth, often. And, of course, I have my brilliant friends from back home (Chelmsford and YRUU) who are in journalism, publishing, book sales or library science who come through for me on many levels.

Over all, I love my blanket book community but I love each individual part of the community within the overall structure.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 28, 2010 11:15 am

    Very cool! Sounds like you have a bunch of communities available to you to satisfy all of your book-ish needs.

  2. November 28, 2010 3:15 pm

    I chuckled over your iPhone story. I still use a “dinosaur” even though my friends and family keep urging me to use a “smart phone”, cause I can even read a book on it. Horrors! I don’t ever see myself reading on a phone. I’d rather be curled up in a cozy corner holding the book!

  3. November 28, 2010 6:49 pm

    I always seek out the comfy chairs too!.. though sometimes my comfy spot is controlled by the dog!

  4. November 28, 2010 7:22 pm

    Count me among the dumb phone users too! I don’t watch TV, either. Reading is my passion either in print or on audio. I would much rather be wrapped up in a story than anything else! Well…you know what I mean.

  5. November 29, 2010 8:05 am

    What a fun post! 🙂

  6. November 29, 2010 11:36 am

    You are lucky to have access to such great communities!

  7. November 30, 2010 1:44 am

    What a great post!

Leave a Reply

