Skip to content

BTT: Let’s Hear It For The Girls!

November 25, 2010

btt button

It’s Thanksgiving here in the U.S. of A. so …
What authors and books are you most thankful for?


Don’t forget to leave a link to your actual response (so people don’t have to go searching for it) in the comments—or if you prefer, leave your answers in the comments themselves!

I thought you might ask this question!

It seems like I always have the same answers (Hemingway, Fitzgerald, Eco, Sartre, Hesse) to any bit about favorite or most influential. I’ve been thinking about this one, for a week or so, now (I told you, I had a premonition about this question) and I have a brand new list. They’re all women, too, which makes me wonder if I’m entering a new, more Sapphically inclined stage of my reading wherein my late twenties, I am finally getting in touch with my strong feminine side. They are all brilliant and witty, so I hope that I’m not just entering a new phase and I’ll someday grow up to be like all of them.

This is my “Thank you for making my life, just recently, very enjoyable” list:

Photograph of Deirdre  Madden

Deirdre Madden

0514_niffenegger.jpg

Audrey Niffenegger

Allegra Goodman

Barbara Kingsolver receives the 2010 Orange Prize for Fiction.

Barbara Kingsolver

https://i2.wp.com/tlcbooktours.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/07/brunonia-barry.jpg

Brunonia Barry

A. S. Byatt

 

 

 

*honorable mention: Tana French goes on this list, as well, but she’s not a recent addition.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 25, 2010 8:49 am

    Those are great names compare to my thankful authors 🙂
    Mine is here http://novroz.blogspot.com/2010/11/btt-thankful.html

  2. November 25, 2010 9:57 am

    Wonderful choices!

    Here is my BTT: Thanks post!

Trackbacks

  1. Thankfully Reading Weekend: Mini-Challenge #1 « Iwriteinbooks's Blog

Leave a Reply

