Skip to content

Teaser Tuesday: The Finkler Question ~ Howard Jacobson and Possession ~ A. S. Byatt

November 22, 2010

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!


He should have seen it coming.

His life had been one mishap after another. So he should have been prepared for this one.

p. 3 The Finkler Question by Howard Jacobson


“Well, he thought, one or all of these is my adventure.”

p. 70 Possession by A. S. Byatt

Yes, I’m still plugging away at Possession. “Plugging Away” isn’t, really, fair, though. It’s amazing, so far; it’s just that I have so many other books and posts to finish that I’m waiting for the Thanksgiving break, when I’ll truly be able to sit down and devote myself to Possession‘s 550 pages of goodness. I am so pumped about it, really. It’s such an amazingly well-written book and a great story, so far. Oh, I can’t wait!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. November 23, 2010 1:20 pm

    Ooh I liked Possession. You should definitely see the movie after you read the book. I liked the movie a lot.

    My teaser is at The Crowded Leaf.

    • November 23, 2010 3:26 pm

      I’ve heard that from a few people. I’m dying to get a chance to really sit down with the book. I’m loving A. S. Byatt’s storytelling!

  2. November 23, 2010 3:11 pm

    I have to say haven’t heard of neither book but both sound interesting always looking for new reads

    My Teaser Tuesday

  3. November 23, 2010 5:30 pm

    Intriguing teasers! I must look up more on the book “Possession”

  4. November 23, 2010 5:38 pm

    Two great teasers, I need to get my hands on Possession. Thanks for stopping by Calico Contemplations.

  5. November 23, 2010 6:41 pm

    I’ve not read either of there books yet, but both are on my TBR list. My teaser is here, if you want to take a look:http://abookblogofonesown.blogspot.com/2010/11/teaser-tuesday-23112010.html

    Greetings,
    Tiina

  6. November 23, 2010 6:58 pm

    Awesome teasers Mine are here.

    Happy Reading,
    ~Zakiya

  7. November 24, 2010 1:52 pm

    OMG! Possession is my all-time favorite and I just finished Finker myself, also very good but so different. What a great pair of Booker Prize winners! Do you contribute to the Complete Booker blog? You should you should! 🙂 🙂 ❤ ❤ ❤

    • November 26, 2010 10:41 am

      I’m glad you liked The Finkler Question! I was wondering what you thought of it. I’m not sure if it it as funny to non-Jewish readers or if the satire is bitingly witty in general to encompass a lot of varying identity searches. I’m loooving it so far.

      I didn’t know about the Complete Booker Blog! Thanks for cluing me in. I’m not a TV/Movie awards person but I’m usually warm and fuzzy about Booker, Pulitzer, Orange, etc.

Leave a Reply

