Skip to content

Sunday Salon: Time Flies

November 21, 2010

The Sunday Salon.com
Well, it’s official: I’m out of my blogging slump. Through the holidays, I’m pretty sure it will hold as there’s less school, going on. Who knew running a preschool would take as much time as a full college course load? Ok, maybe everyone knew that, aside from me.

I think I’ve managed to bully my time into some sort of sustainable reading schedule that allows me the beloved escapism that I so dearly have missed.

Oddly, The four books I’ve read, recently, or am reading, currently, all have to do with time. Two I reviewed this week (The Time Traveler’s Wife and Molly Fox’s Birthday) and two I am making my way through, delightfully (Possession and My Name is Memory). I’m enjoying tackling memory through the eyes of four different writers.

In other news, I’m pretty pumped about a few upcoming books I’ve got in the bullpen (Howard Jacobson’s The Finkler Question and Barbara Kingsolver’s The Lacuna) both award winners. Of course, one being a Booker, the other being an Orange, that leads me down another cluster-reading spree. I’m going to try to long-list track Orange, Pulitzer and Booker, this year and, in preparation, I’m trying to read past winners and short-listers. If you have any favorites, give ‘um to me now or forever hold your thoughts!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. givingreadingachance permalink
    November 22, 2010 6:53 am

    I cannot believe I have not read many books (read just 1) on time travel. I know I will enjoy it, but I have still not read Time Traveler’s Wife. Sad.

    I am also wanting to buy Finkler’s Question, but am patiently waiting, for someone to gift it to me Lol!
    I am glad you are out of your slump 🙂

  2. November 22, 2010 10:01 am

    Congrats on breaking out of your blogging slump! 🙂 I heart time travel books!

  3. November 22, 2010 2:09 pm

    Glad to hear you are out of your slump! Looking forward to reading some of your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

