Skip to content

Teaser Tuesday: Possession ~ A. S. Byatt

November 15, 2010

teasertuesdays31

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!


The book was thick and black and covered with dust. Its boards were bowed and creaking; it had been maltreated in its own time.

p.3 Possession by A. S. Byatt

I don’t usually comment on my Tuesday Teaser posts but I thought I might add a little something, this week. When Kai and I were coming home from Orlando, several weeks ago, we were perusing the airport bookstore (you’re shocked, I know). We came across A. S. Byatt’s The Children’s Book. She’s been in the shadows of my mind, always, but has never made it to the front. The front being the place my actual TBR selections reside.

I picked up the book and absentmindedly skimmed the back. Then I less absentmindedly skimmed the first few pages. If Wachovia hadn’t become Wells Fargo halfway through my trip, leaving me sans working, disposable payment, it would have been mine. However, the passion of the moment went skipping along, down the road, and I soon forgot about it.

Until today.

Kai and I had our Monday date at the library and I came across Possessions. I frantically searched for The Children’s Book but there wasn’t a copy in sight. I thought it was probably a sign and I should just go with the option on the shelf. I’d reserve the other if I liked the original. So here I am, making the longest Teaser Tuesday, ever, in a less than mild ode to a book (or two) I haven’t even read yet. Gee, I hope it’s good!

16 Comments leave one →
  1. November 16, 2010 8:22 am

    That’s a really sad teaser, I hate to see books mistreated.

    Here’s my teaser http://wp.me/p14az7-jw

    • iwriteinbooks permalink*
      November 16, 2010 10:34 am

      Yes! I think that it’s the reason that this stands out to me, so much…because it means that the book has some horrific or, at least interesting story to tell due to its wear and tear.

  2. November 16, 2010 8:59 am

    Glad your library had this one anyway. Good teaser.

  3. November 16, 2010 9:55 am

    Wonderful teaser! Sounds like a good read.

    Teaser Tuesday: Trapped on Mystery Island by John Howard Reid

  4. November 16, 2010 10:23 am

    I agree. I hate seeing books that haven’t been treated well especially when I take such good care of my own. You can find my teaser at The Bookish Snob

  5. November 16, 2010 10:41 am

    Ooh, I’m a firm believer in signs…and this book sounds very intriguing and as if it is calling to us!

    Thanks for sharing.

    Here’s mine:

    http://rainysnowday.wordpress.com/2010/11/16/teaser-tuesdays-nov-16/

  6. November 16, 2010 11:59 am

    a very sad teaser, for us book lover, it is a cruel thing to let book covered with dust

  7. November 16, 2010 2:14 pm

    I hope it is good too! Nice teaser!

  8. November 16, 2010 3:33 pm

    I loved this book, but then, I tend to enjoy books about manuscripts and authors and set in present and past!

  9. November 16, 2010 4:57 pm

    Here is my teaser from The Lodestone Book One: The Sea of Storms by Mark Whiteway (Prologue):

    It was early in the afternoon, when Kal first saw the flying rock.

    Well, perhaps “flying” was a slight exaggeration; a subtle embellishment that he might have used later when trying to impress his younger brother, or his friends after third-day prayers. It was a least enough to break Kal out of his reverie. Hymarr’s reaction was the last thing he had expected.

    He has been rehearsing in his mind for days beforehand how he would ask her to accompany him to the Spring Gratitude Service. That morning, as he lay in his bedchamber, before even Ali-Gan, the yellow sun, has risen over the western horizon, he determined that today was going to be the day.

  10. November 16, 2010 5:03 pm

    Neglected and mistreated books make me want to cry. Thanks for visiting!

  11. November 16, 2010 5:06 pm

    Love your teaser – Byatt’s books have been on my list for such a long time but I’m yet to get to them.

    Hope you enjoy it.

  12. November 16, 2010 8:34 pm

    This is one of my favorite books of all time. The writing is so evocative and beautiful. I hope you end up loving it!

  13. November 17, 2010 12:12 am

    While I hate to see books mistreated, it’s always the old, dusty ones that contain the best stories. Great teaser!

  14. sally906 permalink
    November 17, 2010 6:13 am

    Your teaser is wonderful – poor book. I like Bryatt’s books but haven’t read this one.

  15. November 20, 2010 1:04 pm

    This one gets read by me in 2011 –I’ve delayed reading it long enough. love the teaser you selected!

Leave a Reply

