Skip to content

We Have A Two Year Old (and library books)

March 13, 2010

Library Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by Eva and Marg that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. If you’d like to participate, just write up your post-feel free to steal the button-and link it using the Mr. Linky any time during the week. And of course check out what other participants are getting from their libraries!

Two years ago, today (this morning at 12:37 to be exact) we went from a family of two to a family of three (or from four to five if you ask the dogs). We knew he was the most amazing and awesome thing we’d ever encountered in our whole lives but we didn’t know he’d become such a fantastic reader by the time he turned two! I won’t go too picture happy on you but these are my favorites of Kai reading over the past year. These are both from over the summer. To celebrate, we went to two (yes TWO!) of our local libraries, today. We spent a long time at the Toco Hills branch and found a few things we “needed” and found some really great stuff at the Chamblee branch which was brand new to us.

At the first we found:


We have Chicka Chicka Boom Boom at home but it’s a shortened board book form. I’m excited about Pablo and Jake because they seem to be geared toward a love for the arts which we always try to foster at home. And I am way too excited about Eddie’s Kingdom because it’s by the same writer who created the Henry books.


and at the second we found:

I’ve never ever seen these at the two branches we frequent (until Chamblee made three) and was so shocked to see both sitting on the shelf. They have Buddhist leanings in child-friendly terms and stunning pictures. I was totally beside myself when I found them.

Between the two, I found three good books for mommy, too:




I went into Toco looking for the Fforde’s Thursday Next series but couldn’t find the first so I gave up. At Chamblee, I found a new Fforde which I’m very excited about. I also realized after my last library trip that In the Woods needed to be read before Likeness so I picked up a copy as well. Chamblee also had a copy of Atwood’s Year of the Flood which I’ve been dying to read.

A very successful trip all around and I think we have a very happy, tired birthday boy, too.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 13, 2010 6:26 pm

    Happy Birthday to your boy!

    I am a big Fforde fan but I decided to buy the book rather than borrow it. I now need to find time to read it!

    I liked In the Woods, but I liked The Likeness more!

  2. March 15, 2010 3:56 pm

    I found your blog when you left a comment on mine. I LOVE the name of your blog, and I love this post about what you found at two different libraries. I love to go to the library and the smallish town where I live is getting a new one later this year. Very exciting business! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Sunday Salon: Week in Review « Iwriteinbooks's Blog

Leave a Reply

