Skip to content

BTT: Picture Perfect

March 11, 2010

btt2

How do you feel about illustrations in your books? Graphs? Photos? Sketches?

I usually read “big people” books, these days so unless it’s explaining a math problem or displaying a map at the front of the book for a fantasy land, I have no interest in books with pictures. I think that part of my love of literature is my own personal touch in imagining what each character and place look like. In that same way, I often refuse to see movies based on books because they go against my own view of the imagined world.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 11, 2010 4:49 pm

    I mostly read “big people” books, too, but I still appreciate a good illustration here and there. Even if the artist’s ideas don’t match my own, I still like seeing the different interpretations. I think it’s pleasant to break up the text once in a while.

  2. March 11, 2010 11:18 pm

    I don’t think illustrations get in the way of my reading. I tend to like them unless the art style is completely off for the book.

  3. March 13, 2010 9:14 am

    I do NOT care for pictures in my fiction books (with the exception of maps). As for non-fiction? The more the better!

Leave a Reply

