Skip to content

BTT: March Forth!

March 4, 2010

btt2

In honor of National Grammar Day (it IS “March Fourth” after all) do you have any grammar books? Punctuation? Writing guidelines? Style books?

More importantly, have you read them?

How do you feel about grammar in general? Important? Vital? Unnecessary? Fussy?


Don’t forget to leave a link to your actual response (so people don’t have to go searching for it) in the comments—or if you prefer, leave your answers in the comments themselves!

I love March Fourth! It is the only day of the year that is also a command!

I’m sorry. Ahem. Moving on.

Here’s the thing: Although, I don’t have grammar books, I enjoy grammar. I don’t enjoy it to be a pain in the rear but rather, I enjoy it because, like the legal system (I was, at one point, bound for law school), it helps our society function.

Now, I’m not a rule follower just to be a rule follower. I’ve broken and continue to break my fair share of rules, laws and grammar guidelines as I see fit. I like to think of grammar more like rules of  a sport. If you’ve ever watched a well oiled team play hockey or basketball, you’ll know what I mean. There’s a fluidity in people going by the book to have fun. Instead of complaining about having a curfew, athletes will call each other out if they see another member of the game (their team or not) breaking the rules.

I feel like grammar should be looked at like a a sport rather than a suffocation method. It makes our language and society function. I enjoy semicolons; I believe in using a myriad of words to get a point across; I most certainly, above all else, despise people who don’t understand the difference between “your” and “you’re” or “their”  and “there”. I also can’t understand, for the life of me, why people insist on saying, “I could care less” when describing a situation in which they couldn’t possibly care less.

I think that’s all. I like grammar.

That said, I will still respond to your text message if you say, “R U goin out 2nite? Theirs a place your gunna luv. If you don’t wanna, I could care less.”

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 4, 2010 9:25 am

    Great response! Although your “txt msg” set my teeth on edge. 🙂

  2. March 4, 2010 10:27 am

    Hi, I’ve given you an award, here you go: http://intetextualchronicles.blogspot.com/2010/03/my-very-first-award.html

  3. March 4, 2010 11:37 am

    Great post, the text message took a moment to figure out and I would not respond to it. I do not see a reason not to use full words when texting. My BTT: http://www.rundpinne.com/2010/03/booking-through-thursday-grammar.html

  4. March 4, 2010 12:17 pm

    I like your team sports analogy!

    My response is here.

  5. March 4, 2010 1:03 pm

    Well crap, I would be serving a fricken life sentence then. Here’s mine.

  6. March 4, 2010 3:53 pm

    I love the badge image 🙂 and I get those kind of texts also. The one I hate is kewl, I mean it is still 4 letters so just use cool, now that one drives me crazy.

    My response.

    http://teawithmarce.blogspot.com/2010/03/booking-through-thursday-grammar.html

  7. March 4, 2010 4:25 pm

    Luv ur txt msg!

    Too Funny!!!!

  8. March 4, 2010 7:20 pm

    Great answer!

    Here’s mine on Rose City Reader.

Leave a Reply

