Skip to content

BTT: Gold Medal Reading

February 18, 2010

btt2


You may have noticed–the Winter Olympics are going on. Is that affecting your reading time? Have you read any Olympics-themed books? What do you think about the Olympics in general? Here’s your chance to discuss!

(And for the record? My favorite Olympics book is Joy Goodwin’s The Second Mark which tells the story of the three figure skating pairs involved in the 2002 Salt Lake City controversy. The controversy is actually the smallest part of the story–the fascinating part is learning about the training of the three teams–Canadian, Russian, and Chinese. Just saying. And yes, I AM watching the Olympics on tv each night.)

I don’t know how to say this without sounding completely uninterested and uncultured but I really don’t go in for the Olympics. Don’t get me wrong; I love sports. I love competition. Maybe I don’t like snow as much but then again, i don’t exactly get hyped up for the summer games, either. It makes me sad when either games are going on because I know I should be excited. Everyone else is. Of course, then again, everyone else is excited about Dancing with the Stars and The Office but I don’t think I know where my remote is located, most days.

I think the problem is that I have an aversion to single player games, having grown up in the incredibly catty and cutthroat world of gymnastics. I like teamwork and passing and catching and blocks and togetherness. I find that with the traditional Olympic games (not the more recent hockey, baseball and/or basketball), I don’t find any sort of cohesiveness aside from the idea that they probably all trained together.

Needless to say, the winter games are not interrupting my reading nor do I have a favorite Olympic book. I have a few great baseball books, though…

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 18, 2010 8:31 am

    The games aren’t interfering with my reading because since I am in Europe, they are mainly broadcast after I am already sleeping.

  2. February 18, 2010 10:58 am

    I don’t watch them. Here’s Mine

  3. February 18, 2010 11:05 am

    Good answer. Mine is at The Crowded Leaf.

  4. February 18, 2010 3:30 pm

    I’m not into them at all. My answer is here

  5. Chelsea permalink
    February 18, 2010 10:34 pm

    It’s interesting to get an ex-athletes take on something like the Olympics! And I know what you mean – I rarely feel as excited as everybody else does, either. Here’s mine!

    http://wereadtoknow.wordpress.com/2010/02/19/btt-winter-olympics/

Leave a Reply

