Skip to content

[iwriteinbooks] Consolidation for Conservation!

January 17, 2010

The Sunday Salon.com

In a perfect world, I would be able to add music to just one part of my blog entry. The beginning rise for this particular post would either be the beloved crescendo from 2001: A Space Oddessey or the opening few bars of Cream’s White Room. Whatever the case, either song would lead to this:

Yes, that’s right, folks, The Nook. I am not, usually, a gadget person. Granted, I have a Prius and my husband’s hand-me-down iPhone but that’s where it ends. Let me also say that I swore up and down that I would never have an eReader of any persuasion.

I loved hanging upside down off the end of the couch with soft paper pages dangling in front of my face. I loved the warmth, so I thought, of having something to move and play with while I was reading. I loved building my library to loan and reread. I loved browsing the aisles at my local bookstore to get just the right pick to read with my coffee, that day.

While I will, most of all, miss constantly supporting my indie bookstore habit (I’ll still buy most of Kai’s books, there and gifts when I can), I think the environmental benefits far outweigh the small business aspect. Now, don’t get me wrong, I have about six or seven indies that I love, adore and cherish but again, I’ll find other ways to help them.

As far as holding a physical book in my hands, I think I have lost most of the romance associated with tearing down resources for a small superstitious bit of happiness. Our human instinct to want, to have, to horde is sometimes too strong to brush away in order to see it for what it is. An animal instinct, organic for sure, but destructive and useless just the same.

I know it seems like a contradiction to lifestyle, but I’d like to think that Thoreau might sit in his cabin with nothing but a Nook. How simple! One small item and nothing more. No trees, no space, no ink. The simplicity is astounding.

Now if you’re in the camp of Global Warming deniers, this theory isn’t for you. But, even if you like to go cutting down trees, willy nilly, think of your back, for heaven’s sake! My bag has felt like it’s been missing something for the past few days but then I peek in and see my Nook and know that all is right. Gone are the four or five bricks I used to carry around at one time.

It’s Sunday, I’m in love. Ah, yes, life is good.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 17, 2010 10:30 am

    I don’t have an e-reader, but I’ve been looking at them for years now. I am very impressed with the Nook. What is your favorite feature so far?

  2. stacybuckeye permalink
    January 17, 2010 2:29 pm

    While I applaud your save the trees mentality, I do agree with it, I think there is a way to live in moderation. I still want to feel the book. I love going into a used bookstore and finding a book that’s been read before and wondering who it was. And I still want to proudly display my favorite authors on my bookshelf.
    That being said, I am sure at some point I will break down and get an e-reader, just not yet.

  3. January 18, 2010 10:35 pm

    I have been waiting for this kind of response, although I love the inside of a book store, I think readers are going to become passionate about their eReaders. Instead of having a fondness for certain books we will put the affection of all our favorite books onto our eReaders. The upside of helping the environment and not having to feel guilty about sending the old books on their way will be great.
    My step grandmother was recently put into a home and had 500 plus old books, no one wanted them including the used book stores, it was such a shame. If she had a nook she could have taken them all with her in to the home and continued to read.
    I think this is the start of a new era in books and will be very interesting to watch as die hard tree book readers slowly convert.

  4. January 20, 2010 1:45 pm

    oooh, that looks quite lovely!

  5. Amanda Silvia permalink
    January 26, 2010 8:28 am

    Well, I don’t waste trees because I utilize the library, and I still get to hold an actual book in my hands! 🙂

Leave a Reply

